Home > News

ITU Launches Hall of Fame

Photo by Delly Carr/ ITU Media
Photo by Delly Carr/ ITU Media

Celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, the International Triathlon Union is launching the ITU Hall Of Fame on September 1, 2014 at gala celebration during the World Triathlon Series Grand Final in Edmonton.

“ITU’s 25th anniversary is a landmark year to celebrate the success of all of those who have made triathlon what it is today,” said ITU President and IOC Member Marisol Casado. “Without the work, support and dedication of the athletes, leaders, officials and volunteers over the last quarter century, we would not be where we are today. It is time to pause and recognize those that laid the foundation upon which we are able to continue evolving our great sport.”

The induction ceremony will take place during closing ceremonies banquet with more than 4,000 athletes and dignitaries in attendance. ITU will also publish a commemorative 25 year anniversary book.

Up to 25 individuals will be shortlisted for the first annual induction. Up to nine will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.  The nominations will be divided into the categories of elite female and male athlete accomplishments, as well as lifetime achievements in the sport of triathlon.

For the inaugural 2014 Hall Of Fame, ITU’s Executive Board will be responsible for preparing a shortlist of nominees for final consideration as inductees, which will be announced by 30 June, 2014.

Canada’s Simon Whitfield, winner of the first men’s Olympic triathlon and 2008 silver medallist,  is likely to be in the mix as will Javier Gomez of Spain, world champion in 2010 and 2013 and Olympic silver medallist at London 2012, and Britain’s Alistair Brownlee, world champion in 2009 and 2011 and London 2012 Olympic champion. On the women’s side, two Australians, Michellie Jones and Emma Snowsill  are sure to be among the inductees. Jones won the world title in 1992 and 1993, and  took silver at the 2000 Olympics. Snowsill won worlds in 2003, 2005 and 2006 and was Olympic champion in 2008.

Click here for a great video highlight of the past 25 years.