Home > News

Previewing the 16th ITU Tiszaujavros World Cup

New semifinals & finals format debuts this weekend in Hungary.

Tiszaujvaros is the second longest event on the ITU calendar and this year it celebrates its 16th birthday with an innovative new twist. The iconic triathlon stop in Hungary becomes the first ITU World Cup to be decided over an exciting two-day sprint semifinals and sprint finals structure.

A number of London-bound athletes will be on the startline, including Annamaria Mazzetti (ITA), Helle Frederiksen (DEN), Alexandra Razarenova (RUS), Maaike Caelers (NED), Davide Uccellari (ITA), Gonzalo Tellechea (ARG) and Gavin Noble (IRL).

But they will be challenged by rising stars aiming to make a splash including reigning Junior World Champions Lukas Verzbicas (USA) and Mikayla Neilsen (NZL), Youth Olympic Games medallists Alois Knabl (AUT) and Kelly Whitley (USA) and Ashleigh Gentle (AUS), who is quickly climbing the elite ranks.


Tiszaujvaros is just two hours from Budapest and thanks to its status as the second longest running ITU event, is known as the triathlon capital of Hungary. The World Cup has one of the best atmospheres of any on the ITU calendar and is a summer tradition in Tiszaujvaros, as the event has a festival like atmosphere. ITU legends like Emma Carney, Hamish Carter, Loretta Harrop and Javier Gomez have all topped the podium at the event affectionately known as “Tiszy”.


Elite Women

Semi-finals – Saturday July 14 – from 13:30 (UTC/GMT +2)  Click here for time in your area

Final – Sunday July 15 – 15:30

Elite Men

Semi-finals – Saturday 14 July from 16:20 (UTC/GMT +2)

Final – Sunday 15 July – 16:50





Women’s semifinal 1 start list

Women’s semifinal 2 start list

Click here for men’s semifinal 1 start list

Click here for men’s semifinal 2 start list

Click here for men’s semifinal 3 start list


Live timing and text coverage from Tiszaujvaros will be available on race day at triathlon.org/live or at @triathlonlive on Twitter.
TOTAL PRIZE MONEY: $50,000 USD (equal for men & women)


There is a slightly difference in the sprint distance courses between semifinals and finals, with the semifinals bike section to be a two-lap 20km leg and the final a six-lap 20km leg.


Swim – 750m – Three laps of a 250m swim circuit with a pontoon start, wetsuits are not expected

Bike – 20km – Two laps of a mostly flat circuit

Run – 5km – Three laps of a most flat and fast run


Swim – 750m – Three laps of a 250m swim circuit with a pontoon start, wetsuits are not expected

Bike – 20km – Six laps of a 3.3km mostly flat course

Run – 5km – Three laps of a mostly flat and fast run course

STORIES TO WATCH FOR: New format: This ITU World Cup marks the debut of the new multi-round, multi-day sprint format. The 2012 event will be decided over two days, with sprint distance semifinals held on Saturday and then a sprint distance final on the Sunday. The total number of entries will decide the number of semifinals – three for the men and two for the women on Saturday with a maximum of 30 athletes in each semifinal, which will start as waves. Every semifinal will qualify a fixed number of athletes for the final and additionally a number of athletes will qualify based on the best times. For example, if the total field is between 31 and 60, there will be two semifinals, the top 14 in each will go through to the final and a further two will go through on time, creating a final field of 30. A full breakdown of the numbers and rules can be found on page 55, section 20 of the ITU Competition Rules, here.
Elite Women
There are a quartet of Olympians completing London preparation including Helle Frederiksen, Alexandra Razarenova, Annamaria Mazzetti and Maaike Caelers. Mazzetti claimed a silver medal in Tiszaujvaros last year, but in this year’s thrilling new format, form on the course might not count for much. Instead it could be a chance for young talent to make a breakthrough. In their favour already is recent experience over the shorter distances and those looking to shake up the field are Youth Olympic Games bronze medallist Kelly Whitley (USA), 2010 Junior World Champion Ashleigh Gentle, 2011 U23 world championships medallists Rebecca Robisch and Zsofia Kovacs, and reigning Junior World Champion Mikayla Neilsen. Also watch for the nine-strong Russian team and an eight-strong team from Ukraine.

Elite Men

There is also a trio of Olympians putting their last touches on their London campaign in the men’s field, including Argentina’s Gonzalo Tellechea, Ireland’s Gavin Noble and Italy’s Davide Uccellari.

One thing for certain is that it will be a fast pace from the start, with strong swimmers Aurelien Raphael (FRA), Andrey Bryukhankov (RUS) and Igor Polyanskiy (RUS) all on the start list, and then it’s sure to be fast in the run with the speedy Lukas Verzbicas (USA) in the field.  There is also a big Australian team in Hungary, including Ryan Fisher, Dan Wilson, Drew Box and Ryan Bailie. The strong European contingent includes Youth Olympic Games bronze medallist Alois Knabl, Great Britain’s Mark Buckingham, Germany’s Gregor Buchholz, Hungary’s Csaba Kuttor and Akos Vanek; and Team ITU alumni Ognjen Stojanovic (SRB), Aleksandr Latin (EST) and Per Wangel (SWE).


– It is the 16th straight year that an ITU World Cup has been held in Tiszaujvaros. The town made its debut in 1997 and it is the second longest running ITU event, only behind Ishigaki which started in 1996.
– The last three years have seen debut ITU World Cup titles in both the men’s and women’s races, with Kate McIlroy, Yuyila Yelistratova, Gwen Jorgensen, Dmitry Polyanskiy, Reinaldo Colucci and Brent McMahon all stepping onto the top of a World Cup podium for the first time in Tiszaujvaros – Australia have so far been the most successful nation in Tiszy, with eight titles, while New Zealand are second with five total wins.

Past Tiszaujvaros ITU Triathlon World Cup winners

WOMEN                                                         MEN

2011     Gwen Jorgensen (USA)                      Brent McMahon (CAN)

2010     Yuliya Yelistratova (UKR)                 Reinaldo Colucci (BRA)

2009     Kate McIlroy (NZL)                            Dmitry Polyanskiy (RUS)

2008     Andrea Whitcombe (GBR)                Javier Gomez (ESP)

2007     Samantha Warriner (NZL)                Javier Gomez (ESP)

2006     Joelle Franzmann (GER)                   Brad Kahlefeldt (AUS)

2005     Annabel Luxford (AUS)                      Dmitriy Gaag (KAZ)

2004     Anja Dittmer (GER)                             Shane Reed (NZL)

2003     Anja Dittmer (GER)                             Volodymyr Polikarpenko (UKR)

2002     Siri Lindley (USA)                                Craig Walton (AUS)

2001     Siri Lindley (USA)                                 Martin Krnavek (CZE)

2000     Loretta Harrop (AUS)                          Martin Krnavek (CZE)

1999     Loretta Harrop (AUS)                           Hamish Carter (NZL)

1998     Loretta Harrop (AUS)                           Hamish Carter (NZL)

1997     Emma Carney (AUS)                             Craig Walton (AUS)