Home > News

ITU releases 2012 World Cup Series Schedule

Kicks off in Mooloolaba in March. Edmonton hosts on July 8.

The International Triathlon Union (ITU) today unveiled its schedule for the 2012 ITU Triathlon World Cup Series.  In the crucial Olympic year, the 2012 season will travel to nine familiar host cities on four continents.

2012 ITU Triathlon World Cup Series Schedule

March 24-25: Mooloolaba, Australia

April 22: Ishigaki, Japan

May 6-7: Huatulco, Mexico

June 17: Banyoles, Spain

July 1: Guatape, Colombia

July 8: Edmonton, Canada

July 15: Tiszaujvaros, Hungary

September 22: Tongyeong, South Korea

October 7: Cancun, Mexico

“Next year will mark the 22nd season of the ITU’s flagship series,” said Marisol Casado, ITU President and IOC Member.  “The ITU Triathlon World Cup Series has traveled to more than 30 different countries on all five continents since 1991 and it continues to showcase the world’s top triathletes, from the sport’s legends and Olympic medallists to the World Champions of tomorrow.”

The 2012 season again opens in Australia, the 8th straight year Mooloolaba will host a World Cup.

Next up is a staple on the ITU calendar: Ishigaki, Japan, a World Cup that began in 1996 and has been held every since then.

Huatulco, Mexico, will host a World Cup for the 5th straight year.  But instead of October, the event moves up to May, making it the final World Cup inside the Olympic qualification period.

The only brand new stop on the World Cup circuit is Banyoles, Spain.  Located approximately 120km northeast of Barcelona, Banyoles hosted a highly successful Premium European Cup in July of this year.

July opens in Colombia as the World Cup tour returns to Guatape, the picturesque resort town just outside Medellin.  From Colombia, the circuit travels north to Edmonton, Canada, which is back on the calendar for the 7th time since 2002.  Edmonton will be the only North American round of the World Cup series.

The final World Cup before the London 2012 Olympic Games will be Tiszaujvaros, Hungary, the second-oldest World Cup in ITU history.  Next year it will celebrate its 16th birthday.

After the London Olympic Games, the World Cup circuit travels to Tongyeong, South Korea for the 6th time since 2003.

The final World Cup of 2012 will be in Cancun, Mexico, back on the calendar after a 4-year absence.  Since 1995 Cancun has hosted nine World Cups and two ITU World Championships.  Cancun will be the final ITU event before the 2012 World Champions are crowned in Auckland, New Zealand on October 20-22.

Click here for the schedule of the 2012 ITU World Championship Series