Home > News

A new era for Ironman Canada in Whistler

Matthew Russell returns to defend his title on Sunday August 25.

On Sunday August 25th, Ironman Canada will celebrate its 31st edition at its new home in Whistler, British Columbia.

American Matthew Russell returns to defend the men’s title, while Canada’s Gillian Clayton cannot defend due to obvious reasons. On Monday August 12, she gave birth to a 7 lb 3 oz boy named Matthias Hercules. Congratulations Gillian and Shawn!

Ironman Canada is a P-2000 race with a $75,000 USD professional prize purse. Additionally, the race will offer 100 age group slots to the 2013 IRONMAN World Championship taking place on October 12, 2013. August 25 is the last opportunity for professionals to gather points for Kona qualification.

Ironman.com will have live coverage.

Professional Men’s field

1 Matthew Russell USA
3 Paul Amey GBR
4 Bryan Rhodes NZL
5 Bruno Clerbout BEL
6 Matthew Sheeks USA
7 Paul Hawkins GBR
8 Matt Lieto USA
9 Trevor Wurtele CAN
10 Brendan Naef CAN
11 Thomas Maliszewski USA
12 Stephen Killshaw CAN
13 Jim Lubinski USA
14 Andrew Russell CAN
15 Nathan Birdsall USA
16 Dominik Berger AUT
17 Mike Schifferle CHE
18 Daniel Halksworth GBR
19 Jonathan Caron CAN
20 Dan Litwora USA
21 Nigel Gray CAN

Professional Women’s field

25 Uli Bromme USA
26 Olesya Prystayko UKR
27 Kristyn Tobey BMU
28 Julie van Veelen CAN
29 Christine FLetcher CAN
30 Christine Anderson USA
31 Martina Wan CAN
33 Gillian Moody CAN
34 Lisa Ribes USA
35 Sarah Baker CAN
36 Christina Jackson USA
37 Keiko Tanaka JPN
38 Annett Kamenz DEU