Home > Racing

Ironman World Championship Preview: Who’s racing in St. George

A look at the 75 pros who will compete for the Ironman World Championship title

Photo by: Jordan Bryden

For the first time ever the Ironman World Championship will be taking place outside of Hawaii this May as the long-awaited return of the event takes place in St. George, Utah.

Related: St. George becomes Ironman World Championship host

Today Ironman officially announced the 75 pro athletes who will toe the line in St. George on May 7.

Women’s field

The defending Ironman World Champion, Anne Haug (GER), will wear race #F1, with the four-time champion, Daniela Ryf (SUI) wearing #F2. Another German, Laura Philipp, was fourth in her Kona debut in 2019, and is fresh off a win over Ryf at Ironman 70.3 Dubai last month.

There are two Canadians in the field – Angela Naeth and Rach McBride.

F1 Haug Anne DEU
F2 Ryf Daniela CHE
F4 Philipp Laura DEU
F5 Jackson Heather USA
F6 Moench Skye USA
F7 Matthews Katrina GBR
F8 Corbin Linsey USA
F9 Stage-Nielsen Maja DNK
F10 Frades Larralde Gurutze ESP
F11 Naeth Angela CAN
F12 Norden Lisa SWE
F14 Langridge Fenella GBR
F15 McCauley Jocelyn USA
F16 Svensk Sara SWE
F17 Bartlett Nikki GBR
F18 Astle Ruth GBR
F19 Siddall Laura GBR
F20 Zimmermann Laura DEU
F21 Mathieux Justine FRA
F23 Kiley Renee AUS
F24 Simpson Kylie AUS
F25 Ryter Joanna CHE
F26 Chura Haley USA
F27 Fillnow Kelly USA
F28 Kessler Meredith USA
F29 McBride Rach CAN
F30 Lehrieder Carolin DEU
F31 Mitchell Simone GBR
F32 Grosvenor Tara GBR
F33 Kortekaas Tessa NLD

Men’s field

Defending men’s champion Jan Frodeno won’t be competing in St. George but that hardly means we’re not in for an exciting race. Norwegian’s Kristian Blummenfelt and Gustav Iden are the much-touted new full-distance stars, but will face some stiff competition from veterans and fellow Olympians alike in the form of Sebastian Kiel, Alistair Brownlee and Canada’s own Lionel Sanders.

M2 Kienle Sebastian DEU
M3 Iden Gustav NOR
M4 Hoffman Ben USA
M5 Blummenfelt Kristian NOR
M6 Skipper Joe GBR
M7 Currie Braden NZL
M8 Aernouts Bart BEL
M9 Leiferman Chris USA
M10 Brownlee Alistair GBR
M11 Van Berkel Jan CHE
M12 Weiss Michael AUT
M14 Potts Andy USA
M15 Bækkegård Daniel DNK
M16 Sanders Lionel CAN
M17 Long Sam USA
M18 Angert Florian DEU
M19 Hogenhaug Kristian DNK
M21 Hanson Matthew USA
M22 Chevrot Denis FRA
M23 Gomez Javier ESP
M24 Dreitz Andreas DEU
M25 Smith Kyle NZL
M26 Chevalier Leon FRA
M27 Wurf Cameron AUS
M28 Laidlow Sam FRA
M29 Metzler Justin USA
M30 Boecherer Andi DEU
M31 Butterfield Tyler BMU
M32 Neumann Max AUS
M33 Trautman Matt ZAF
M34 Guilloux Arnaud FRA
M35 Stein Boris DEU
M37 Goesch Henrik FIN
M38 McNamee David GBR
M39 Russell Matt USA
M40 Heemeryck Pieter BEL
M41 Feigh Adam USA
M42 Burton Matt AUS
M43 Portmann Kevin FRA
M44 Nilsson Patrick SWE