Home > Racing

Daytona-bound Canadians and who they’ll be racing at the PTO Championship

A look at who will, and won't, be on the start line to compete for the sport's richest prize purse

Photo by: Jose Luis Hourcade

There will be nine Canadians at the start line for the US$1.15 million Professional Triathletes Organisation’s Championship at Challenge Daytona on December 6. Here’s a list of the Canadians we’ll see racing in Florida, along with a preliminary list of the expected field set to compete for the sport’s largest prize purse in Florida.

Related: Challenge Daytona to host PTO middle-distance world championships


PTO Qualified:

The top 40 men and women in the PTO standings automatically qualified for the Championship event in Daytona. Canadians on that list include:

Lionel Sanders (fourth in the PTO standings) on his way to taking the men’s title at Challenge Daytona last year. Photo: Talbot Cox.
Cody Beals (19th in the PTO standings) on the bike at the Canadian Pro Triathlon Championship in September. He’ll be racing at Ironman Florida this weekend. Photo: Kevin Mackinnon
Paula Findlay (15th in the PTO standings) is the defending women’s champion at Challenge Daytona. She’s seen here finishing 13th at the 2019 Ironman 70.3 World Championship in Nice. Photo: Kevin Mackinnon
Jen Annett (39th in the PTO standings) finishes third at the Ironman European Championship in Frankfurt. Photo: Kevin Mackinnon

The biggest name missing for the men’s race in Daytona is Jan Frodeno, who sits atop the PTO men’s standings. The German Olympic and Ironman world champ announced earlier this year that after a bike injury he would be calling it a season.

There are two big names who won’t be competing in Florida next month – the top two women in the PTO standings: Daniela Ryf and Lucy Charles.

Men’s PTO Qualified tentative start list:

Alistair Brownlee
Sebastian Kienle
Lionel Sanders
Ben Hoffman
Rudy von Berg
Cameron Wurf
Javier Gomez
Timothy O’Donnell
Pieter Heemeryck
Andreas Dreitz
Michael Weiss
Bart Aernouts
Matt Hanson
Sam Appleton
Cody Beals
Maurice Clavel
Florian Angert
Daniel Baekkegard
Patrik Nilsson
Andrew Starykowicz
Matt Trautman
Philipp Koutny
Matthew Russell
Igor Amorelli
Andi Boecherer
Ben Kanute
Frederic Funk
Andy Potts
Tim Van Berkel
Bradley Weiss
Eneko Llanos
George Goodwin

Women’s PTO Qualified tentative start list:

Sarah Crowley
Anne Haug
Holly Lawrence
Carrie Lester
Heather Jackson
Laura Philipp
Skye Moench
Daniela Bleymehl
Paula Findlay
Ellie Salthouse
Amelia Watkinson
Jackie Hering
Jeanni Seymour
Sara Svensk
Gurutze Frades
Emma Pallant
Judith Corachan
Meredith Kessler
Agnieszka Jerzyk
Lesley Smith
Carolin Lehrieder
Kimberley Morrison
Maja Stage Nielsen
Manon Genet
Jen Annett
Michelle Vesterby

Related: Challenge North America adds second race in Miami


Two Canadians earned their spots for the race in Daytona thanks through roll down:

Jackson Laundry (48th in the PTO standings) on his way to the Canadian Pro Triathlon Championship in September. Photo: Kevin Mackinnon
Rach McBride (54th in the PTO standings) on her way to a third-place finish at the Canadian Pro Triathlon Championship. Photo: Kevin Mackinnon

Rolldown qualifiers:

Kristian Hogenhaug
Adam Bowden
Jackson Laundry
Ruedi Wild
Nils Frommhold
David Plese
Thomas Steger
Joe Gambles
Lisa Roberts
India Lee
Lauren Brandon
Pamella Oliveira
Katrina Matthews
Fenella Langridge
Kristin Liepold
Rach McBride
Lauren Barnett
Bianca Steurer
Jennifer Spieldenner
Elisabetta Curridori
Meredith Hill
Jodie Robertson

PTO Wildcard:

The PTO named 16 “wildcard” entrants to the championship race in Daytona. That list included a number of ITU draft-legal specialists, up and coming athletes who haven’t had a chance to work their way up the standings, and others who may be coming back from injury.

Angela Naeth celebrates at the top of the podium with Lisa Roberts (left) and Lenny Ramsay (right) after winning Ironman Chattanooga last year.

PTO Wildcard athletes:

Chris Leiferman
Sam Long
Gustav Iden
Henri Schoeman
James Cunnama
Jonny Brownlee
Kristian Blummenfelt
Magnus Elbaek Ditlev
Tim Don
Vincent Luis
Angela Naeth
Lisa Norden
Lucy Hall
Danielle Dingman
Renee Kiley
Flora Duffy
Nicola Spirig
Simone Mitchell

Challenge invite:

Challenge Daytona added some names to the start list, as well.

Taylor Reid finished fourth at the inaugural Challenge Daytona race and ninth last year. Photo: Kevin Mackinnon
2016 Olympian Amelie Kretz will make her long-distance debut at the PTO Championship at Challenge Daytona. Photo: Kevin Mackinnon


Thomas Davis
Eric Lagerstrom
Taylor Reid
Alissa Doehla
Nikki Bartlett
Amelie Kretz
Anneke Jenkins
Jodie Stimpson
Kelsey Withrow
Justine Mathieux
Ruth Astle
Jason West
Justin Metzler
Kieran Lindars
Andrea Salvisberg