Home > Racing

7 Canadians to compete at Ironman 70.3 World Championships in St. George

Ryf and Iden back to defend their titles but will face stellar fields

Photo by: Kevin Mackinnon

While the Iroman World Championship has been postponed until February, 2022, the Ironman 70.3 World Championship is still slated to go on Sept. 18 2021 in St. George, Utah. Ironman has released the names of the pro field that will be part of the 3,000 competitors from more than 80 countries expected to take part in the event.

Women’s pro field:

Five-time Ironman 70.3 world champion Daniela Ryf (SUI) will be in St. George to go after a sixth title and take another win in Utah – she won the Ironman 70.3 North American Championship in St. George in the spring. After an off day at the Collins Cup last weekend, Ryf will need to be on her regular form to take another 70.3 world title as she faces the likes of Lucy Charles-Barclay (GBR), who has had a stellar 2021 at a variety of distances, and Taylor Knibb (USA), who finished well ahead of Ryf in their match at the Collins Cup in Slovakia.

Others to watch include 2016 Ironman 70.3 world champ Holly Lawrence (GBR), Canada’s Paula Findlay, Emma Pallant-Browne (GBR) and Ellie Salthouse (AUS).

Canadians in the field also include Tamara Jewett (pictured above), fresh off a huge win at Ironman 70.3 Timberman last month and Jenny Fletcher, who is racing at Challenge Roth this weekend.

Here’s the complete pro women’s list:

101 Ryf Daniela CHE
102 Lawrence Holly GBR
103 Simmonds Imogen CHE
104 Sodaro Chelsea USA
105 Charles-Barclay Lucy GBR
106 Pallant-Browne Emma GBR
107 Svensk Sara SWE
109 Matthews Katrina GBR
110 Findlay Paula CAN
111 Lester Carrie AUS
112 Moench Skye USA
113 Metzler Jeanni ZAF
114 Hering Jackie USA
115 Salthouse Ellie AUS
116 Norden Lisa SWE
117 Bartlett Nikki GBR
119 Kessler Meredith USA
120 Hall Lucy GBR
121 Smith Lesley USA
122 Piampiano Sarah USA
123 McCauley Jocelyn USA
124 Oliveira Pamella BRA
126 Lee India GBR
127 Thek Grace AUS
128 Stage-Nielsen Maja DNK
129 Becharas Lisa USA
130 Reischmann Anne DEU
131 Jewett Tamara CAN
132 Lane Chloe AUS
133 Mathieux Justine FRA
134 Lewis Danielle USA
136 Iemmolo Julie FRA
137 Knibb Taylor USA
138 Withrow Kelsey USA
139 Best-Pohl Anna-Lena DEU
140 Krüger Katharina DEU
141 Laine Kinsey USA
142 Sheedy-Ryan Felicity AUS
143 Thams Line DNK
144 Alexander Grace USA
145 Pesch Maddy USA
146 Luethi Diane CHE
147 Mensch Rachel USA
148 Wendorff Amanda USA
149 Goodell Kimberly USA
150 Fletcher Jenny CAN

Related: 6 Takeaways from Ironman 70.3 St. George

Jackson Laundry on his way to taking the Canadian Pro Triathlon Championship in 2020. Photo: Kevin Mackinnon

Men’s pro field:

Defending men’s champion Gustav Iden (NOR) dominated his match at the Collins Cup last weekend and heads into St. George brimming with confidence. He’ll have to take on a more-than-competitive group of athletes, though, including his countryman and recent gold-medal winner in Tokyo, Kristian Blummenfelt. The list of potential champs continues – Canada’s Lionel Sanders, who won in St. George in the spring, two-time Olympic gold medalist and 2018 and 2019 70.3 worlds runner upAlistair Brownlee (GBR), as long as he’s recovered from the heel surgery that sidelined him in his Olympic qualifying goal, Javier Gomez (ESP), a two-time 70.3 world champ, along with Americans Ben Kanute and Sam Long.

Other Canadians in the field include Jackson Laundry, who also won his match at the Collins Cup last weekend, Taylor Reid and Brennen Smith.

Here’s the complete men’s pro list:

1 Iden Gustav NOR
2 Brownlee Alistair GBR
3 Von Berg Rudy USA
4 Blummenfelt Kristian NOR
5 Gomez Javier ESP
6 Appleton Sam AUS
7 Weiss Bradley ZAF
8 Kanute Ben USA
9 Sanders Lionel CAN
10 Reed Tim AUS
11 Raelert Michael DEU
12 Long Sam USA
14 Hanson Matthew USA
15 Bækkegård Daniel DNK
16 Leiferman Chris USA
17 Goodwin George GBR
18 Ditlev Magnus DNK
19 Neumann Max AUS
20 Dreitz Andreas DEU
21 Funk Frederic DEU
22 Angert Florian DEU
23 Laundry Jackson CAN
24 Smith Kyle NZL
26 Azevedo Filipe PRT
27 Stratmann Jan DEU
28 Clavel Maurice DEU
30 Chartier Collin USA
31 Gambles Joe AUS
32 Mignon Clement FRA
33 West Jason USA
34 Costes Antony FRA
35 Ruttmann Paul AUT
36 Mendez Cruz Mauricio MEX
37 Herbst Marcus DEU
38 Taagholt Miki DNK
39 Jarrige Yvan FRA
40 Teagle James GBR
41 Smales Elliot GBR
42 Reid Taylor CAN
43 Frommhold Nils DEU
44 Barnaby Gregory ITA
45 Chase Nicholas USA
46 Deckard Robbie USA
47 Kallin Robert SWE
49 Lagerstrom Eric USA
50 Amorelli Igor BRA
51 Ulloa Martin CHL
52 Toldi Fernando BRA
53 Rana Ivan ESP
54 Rea Tim AUS
55 Noodt Mika DEU
56 Smith Brennen CAN
57 Le Berre Yohan FRA
58 Faldum Gabor HUN
59 Magnien Dylan FRA
61 Andrie Marty USA
62 Royle Aaron AUS
63 Rodriguez Hernandez Tomas MEX
64 Metzler Justin USA
65 Butterfield Tyler BMU