Home > News

Whitfield 12th and Jones 16th in Hamburg

Gomez gets 12th major race win.

Victoria’s Simon Whitfield finished 12th and Oakville’s Kyle Jones finished 16th (his best result in the ITU World Championship Series) earlier today in Hamburg, Germany.

Whitfield overcame a poor swim and used his run to earn a respectable finish (1:44:30), while Jones continues to show improvement as the season progresses.

“I haven’t had a swim that bad in a long time. It was really rough for me, and if you’re not swimming well it is tough to win,” said Whitfield to Triathlon Canada. “I hate to say I accomplished my goals by finishing 12th, but I did today. I really wanted to just get back on track. With a few laps to go in the run, I really picked up the pace. I just have to stay the course and continue the consistency.”

“Kyle is now at a point where he feels like he can get into the top-10, and sees clearly the things he needs to do to get there,” said Kurt Innes, high-performance director, Triathlon Canada. “He continues to post strong results and is in position now to compete with the top guys. He just needs to continue building and getting long, race experience. This was another solid result for him.”

Spain’s Javier Gomez outran everyone to take the race win with a time of 1:43:07, tying Simon Whitfield for the most major race wins at 12. Germany’s Jan Frodeno finished second (1:43:23) after failing to match Gomez’s pace, and Great Britain’s Tim Don took third (1:43:57). And while they were not able to get the best of Gomez during the race, Frodeno and Don sure did at the post-race podium celebrations.

Victoria’s Kirsten Sweetland will be Canada’s single entry in tomorrow’s elite women’s race.

Top 10 Elite Men

1. Javier Gomez (ESP)  1:43:07

2. Jan Frodeno (GER)  1:43:23

3. Tim Don (GBR)  1:43:57

4. Sven Riederer (SUI) 1:44:00

5. Vladimir Turbaevskiy (RUS)  1:44:03

6. Brad Kahlefeldt (AUS)  1:44:07

7. Jarrod Shoemaker (USA)  1:44:10

8. Steffen Justus (GER)  1:44:11

9. Alexander Brukhankov (RUS)  1:44:13

10. Joao Silva (POR)  1:44:14

12. Simon Whitfield (CAN)  1:44:30

16. Kyle Jones (CAN)  1:44:46

Full results