Home > News

Weiss and Paterson claim XTERRA World Titles

Kabush finishes fifth, Vine fifteenth. Zaryski and Lambert win age group titles.

Austrian Michael Weiss and American Lesley Paterson both won their first XTERRA World Championship titles today in Maui, Hawaii.

The UK’s Richard Stannard (20:22) led the 1.5 km swim closely shadowed by Olympic Gold Medalist Jan Frodeno (20:24). But once onto the 30 km bike, Weiss followed up on his 23:34 swim by crushing the field with a 1:19:32 ride. With a comfortable lead, Weiss completed the final 10 km run in 43:54 to win his first XTERRA World title in 2:27:00 after finishing in third place in 2010 and 2009. South African Dan Hugo ran hard off the bike (42:27) to take second (2:27:33), and Spain’s Eneko Llanos also closed with a fast run (42:49) to finish third (2:28:26). Edmonton’s Mike Vine finished in 15th (2:34:03), Victoria’s Kelly Guest finished 18th, and Calgary’s Calvin Zaryski finished 28th (2:39:28) to capture the men’s 40-44 age group championship.

XTERAA legend Conrad Stoltz dropped out 3 km into the run due to issues with his asthma. While seven time Tour de France winner Lance Armstrong was second off the bike but struggled during the run (52:40) to finish 23rd (2:36:59).

Australia’s Erin Densham led the swim for the women (22:32), but the three-time XTERRA World Champion Melanie McQuaid of Victoria soon overtook Densham for the race lead. McQuaid took a close to five-minute lead onto the run but it was not to be her day. McQuaid suffered during the run and ended up not finishing the race after collapsing and being carried off the course (pictured above). Paterson took full advantage of McQuaid’s plight but also ran a women’s best 43:54 to win her first XTERRA World title in 2:45:59. France’s Marion Lorblanchet finished second (2:48:08), and the Czech Republic’s Helena Erbenová came in third (2:51:51). Calgary’s Danelle Kabush finished fifth (2:54:35), Brackendale’s Brandi Heisterman placed ninth (3:03:39).

“Don’t remember running but I will live to fight another day. Beyond disappointed though,” tweeted McQuaid following the race. “Funky chicken in the last mile, passed by Les and Marion while I weeble wobbled and then I fell down. Big congratulations to Lesley Paterson. She is a deserving champion and a badass chick. The stripes will look very good on her.”

Collingwood’s Katie Button finished 20th (3:15:53) and took second in the women’s 25-29 age group. While Edmonton’s Sue Lambert completed the course in 3:30:42 to become the women’s 45-49 World Champion.


1 Michael Weiss 2:27:00

2 Dan Hugo 2:27:33

3 Eneko Llanos 2:28:26

4 Josiah Middaugh 2:29:14

5 Ivan Rana 2:29:31

6 Olivier Marceau 2:29:40

7 Ronny Dietz 2:29:47

8 Richard Ussher 2:29:54

9 Jan Kubicek 2:30:54

10 Christopher Legh 2:31:10

15 Mike Vine CAN 2:34:03

18 Kelly Guest CAN 2:35:38

28 Calvin Zaryski CAN 2:39:28 *Men 40-44 winner

Other notables

16 Tim DeBoom 2:34:23

23 Lance Armstrong 2:36:59


1 Lesley Paterson 2:45:59

2 Marion Lorblanchet 2:48:08

3 Helena Erbenová 2:51:51

4 Renata Bucher 2:52:02

5 Danelle Kabush CAN 2:54:35

6 Erin Densham 2:57:46

7 Sara Tarkington 2:57:59

8 Emma Garrard 2:58:42

9 Brandi Heisterman CAN 3:03:39

10 Jessica Noyola 3:04:25

20 Katie Button CAN 3:15:53 *W25-29