Home > News

Triathlon Canada Hands Out 2013 Excellence Awards

Photo by Delly Carr / ITU
Photo by Delly Carr / ITU

While the 2014 race season has begun for some, Triathlon Canada awarded the top performers for the 2013 season.  Kyle Jones, of Oakville, Ont., was named the Male Triathlete-of-the-Year for the second straight season. Feeding off his Olympic debut in 2012, the 29-year-old Jones was Canada’s top male in a season that was highlighted by a silver medal victory at the World Cup in Edmonton. He capped 2013 off by finishing 19th at the World Championships in London.

“It was a great year for triathlon in Canada and I’m honoured to be recognized for my contribution to the success we had,” said Jones. “The 2014 season is just about to kick off and I’m looking forward to another exciting year on the road to Rio.”

Victoria’s Kirsten Sweetland will be recognized for her successful comeback to elite racing by winning the Women’s Triathlete-of-the-Year. The 25-year-old Sweetland had two, top-five finishes on the World Cup including a memorable bronze-medal win in Edmonton. She was also rock solid on the World Triathlon Series with two, top-15’s including a sixth-place finish in Kitzbuhel, Austria.

“Starting last year I really didn’t have any goals other than to be healthy and happy,” said Sweetland. “Every race and result that came was a bonus. To have performed above expectations, and be chosen for this award, is both a surprise and an honour! Thank you to everyone at TriCan for the support last year. I think great things lie ahead for Triathlon Canada!” 

Triathlon Canada also recognized two of its top Paratriathletes who continue to march towards the sport’s Paralympic debut in 2016. Ottawa’s Jennifer Hopkins was recognized as the top women’s Paratriathlete for her third straight victory at the World Championships. Calgary’s Stefan Daniel was named Male Paratriathlete-of-the-Year after capturing a bronze medal in his first World Championships at just 16 years of age.

Triathlon Canada also recognized four athletes in the Under-23 and Junior race categories.

Alexander Hinton, of Kingston, Ont., earned top honours in the Under-23 male category, while Calgary’s Ellen Pennock was the top female in the women’s Under-23. Winnipeg’s Tyler Mislawchuk was the top junior male for the second straight season, while Emy Legault, of Ile Perrot, Que., grabbed the junior girls award.

Victoria’s Larry McMahon won the William J. Hallet Excellence Award which recognizes Significant Contributor/Volunteer of the Year Award.


Other award winners include the following:

Coaching Excellence Awards

Elite Coach of the Year – Kyla Rollinson (Montreal)

Age Group Coach of the Year – James Loaring (Guelph, ON)


Age Group Excellence Awards

Standard Distance Triathlon

Ben Sayles (Brantford, Ont.) – 18-19 Male

Andrew Beardsall (Alliston, Ont.) – 18-19 Male

Kristen Marchant (Newmarket, Ont.) – 20-24 Female

Raymond Colliver (Calgary) – 80-84 Male


Sprint Distance Triathlon

Lauren Babineau (Belcarra, B.C.) – 20-24 Female

Jackson Laundry (Haydon, Ont.) – 20-24 Male

Suzanne Chandler (West Vancouver, B.C.) – 40-44 Female



Mindy Fleming (Ajax, Ont.) 25-29 Female

Peggy Labonte (Pierrefonds, Que.) – 30-34 Female

Sasha Gollish (Toronto) – 30-34 Female

Francois Marceau (Valleyfield, Que.) – 40-44 Male

Tricia Bachman (Whitby, Ont.) – 45-49 Female

Carolyn Silvey (Toronto, Ont.) – 55-59 Female

Karen Beazley (Halifax) – 55-59 Female

David Field (Barrie’s Bay, Ont.) – 55-59 Male

Sharon Oleskiw (Port Colborne, Ont.) – 65-69 Female

Lynda Lemon (Welland, Ont.) – 65-69 Female

Robert Knuckey (Caledon, Ont.) – 65-69 Male

Woody Paylor (Red Deer, Alta.) – 70-74 Male


Sprint Distance Duathlon

Monica Lau (Oakville, Ont.) – 25-29 Female

Jackie Onyszko (Calgary) – 30-34 Female

Louise Atkinson-Clark (Lorraine, Que.) – 60-64 Female

John Grace (Georgetown, Ont.) – 60-64 Male

Bob Hubbard (Solana Beach, Cali.) 70-74 Male


Long Distance Triathlon

Blaire Kniaziew Gervais (Windsor, Ont.) – 35-39 Female

Colleen Grey-Hewett (North Vancouver, B.C.) – 40-44 Female

Calvin Zaryski (Calgary) – 45-49 Male

Pierre Lavoie (Chicoutimi, Que.) – 50-54 Male

Edie Fisher (Kenora, Ont.) – 55-59 Female

Randal Walker (Windsor, Ont.) – 55-59 Male

Carol Peters (Delta, BC) – 60-64 Female

Murray MacPherson (Penticton, B.C.) – 60-64 Male

Beverly Watson (Priddis, Alta.) – 60-64 Female

Rosemary Wedlake (London, Ont.) – 60-64 Female

Bob Knuckey (Alton, Ont.) – 65-69 Male

Milos Kostic (Regina) – 70-74 Male


Cross Triathlon

Nadine Mueller (Spruce Grove, Alta.) – 30-34 Female

Grace Menning (North Vancouver, B.C.) – 40-44 Female

Calvin Zaryski (Calgary) – 45-49 Male

Randal Walker (Windsor, Ont.) – 55-59 Male

Carl Peterson (Penticton, B.C.) – 60-64 Male

Beverly Watson (Priddis, Alta.) – 60-64 Female