Home > News

Top Canadian Triathlon Stories of 2013

Canadian triathlon and duathlon stories of 2013.Jeff Symonds wins Challenge Penticton 2013Heather Wurtele sets a new course record enroute to becoming the 2013 Ironman Coeur d'Alene champion - Photo by Nils Nilsen/IRONMAN.

Brent McMahon and Greg Welch at the finish line at the 2013 Ironman 70.3 St. George.Top 3 Women at the 2013 Edmonton ITU World Cup - Photo by Triathlon CanadaSimon Whitfield

In compiling this list, it was great to look back and remember all of the great Canadian accomplishments in 2013. We hope you’ll enjoy this look back and maybe add a few comments on what you think might be the top story, or maybe something we’ve missed. In no particular order here are the top Canadian triathlon and duathlon stories of 2013.

Trevor Wurtele Wins Ironman Canada

Kelowna’s Trevor Wurtele made it his season’s focus, and he succeeded in earning his first ever Ironman title at the inaugural Ironman Canada at Whistler. Wurtele also made headlines this year for his epic and hilarious video race reports. Our story: Trevor Wurtele wins Ironman Canada.

Jeff Symonds wins the inaugural Challenge Penticton

Jeff Symonds’ prime objective in 2013 was to take the win at the inaugural Challenge Penticton in front of his home town crowd, and despite the challenge two-time Ironman World Champion Chris McCormack and a bike crash the ripped him up into a bloody mess, Symonds went on to claim the title in his Ironman distance debut. Our story: Jeff Symonds wins the inaugural Challenge Penticton.

Dave Matheson and Iona MacKenzie win Ultraman Canada

Canada’s Dave Matheson and Iona MacKenzie won the 2013 edition of Ultraman Canada in Penticton, British Columbia. Matheson also set the new total course record of 21:47:47, beating the previous record held by Kevin Cutjar (21:49:45) set in 2010. Our story: Dave Matheson and Iona MacKenzie win Ultraman Canada.

Lionel Sanders takes Ironman 70.3 Muskoka

Hamilton’s Lionel Sanders turned in a stunning performance to win Ironman 70.3 Muskoka over Germany’s Andreas Raelert and a competitive men’s field.

Brent McMahon wins the Saskatoon Triathlon Pro Chase and Ironman 70.3 St. George

Brent McMahon passed Magali Tisseyre in the last km of the run to win the inaugural Saskatoon Triathlon Pro Chase, he also notched an impressive victory over a stacked men’s field at Ironman 70.3 St. George.

Watson, Goodyear, and Kostic earn Ironman World Championship Age Group Honours

Beverly Watson of Priddis, AB., Cullen Goodyear of North Vancouver, BC., and Milos Kostic of Regina, SK, all captured age group wins at the 2013 Ironman World Championship.

Heather Wurtele sets new course record at Ironman Coeur d’Alene

After a DQ in 2012 for using another competitor’s bike to finish the 180 km ride, Wurtele returned to Ironman Coeur d’Alene with a vengeance. She won the race with a new course record of 9:16:02 (55:40 swim, 5:07:03 bike and a 3:09:01 marathon) to win by over 12 minutes. Our story: Heather Wurtele sets new course record at Ironman Coeur d’Alene. Wurtele also notched wins at: Ironman 70.3 Calgary, Ironman 70.3 Panama, Rev3 Quassy Half.

Amelie Kretz’s big year

Amelie Kretz, Ellen Pennock and Kirsten Sweetland swept the podium at the 2013 Edmonton ITU Triathlon World Cup. Kretz also won at ITU Bridgetown, and took second at ITU Mazatlan, and bronze at the U23 Triathlon World Championships.

Canadians excel at the 2013 ITU Duathlon World Championships

In August, Ottawa played host to the 2013 ITU Duathlon Age Group World Championship. Canadians Peggy Labonte, Jennifer Faraone, Carolyn Silvey, Sharryn Oleskiw, and David Field all became Age Group World Champions on home soil. Louise Atkinson Clark captured the Age Group World Championship at the Sprint Distance. Our story: Canadians excel at the 2013 ITU Duathlon World Championships.

Retirements of Simon Whitfield and Samantha McGlone

Both Simon Whitfield and Samantha McGlone were not too active on the racing scene prior to their official retirement announcements so the final proclamations were not huge surprises.  Nevertheless, these two great athletes left a lasting legacy for the future Canadian triathlon stars to follow.

Our stories: Simon Whitfield Retires, and Samantha McGlone Retires.

Edmonton and Mont-Tremblant to host the World

In 2013 it was announced that Edmonton will host the 2014 ITU Grand Final, and that Mont-Tremblant would host the 2014 Ironman 70.3 World Championship.

Angela Naeth collects three Ironman 70.3 titles

Prince George’s Angela Naeth finished fifth in her Ironman debut at Ironman Lake Tahoe but heading into that race she collected victories at Ironman 70.3 Racine,

Ironman 70.3 Buffalo Springs, Ironman 70.3 Eagleman.

Other Stories that can’t be ignored:

Rachel McBride Wins Bronze at the ITU Long Distance Triathlon World Championships

Beverly Watson and Calvin Zaryski win Age Group titles at the XTERRA World Championship

Pennock and Kretz claim silver and bronze at the U23 Triathlon World Championships

Xavier Grenier-Talavéra and Emily Wagner win the Canada Games Triathlon

Magali Tisseyre wins Ironman 70.3 Muncie

Kyle Jones is second at the Edmonton ITU Triathlon

Sarah-Anne Brault earns silver in Vila Velha, Brazil

Paula Findlay rises to the top in Sarasota

Cody Beals notches a debut win at the Welland Half Iron Triathlon

Tommy Ferris wins Rev3 Cedar Point Half

Canadian Age Group Winners from Ironman 70.3 Mont-Tremblant

Age groups wins for Pady, Frost, Macpherson and Knuckey at Ironman Arizona

Canadian Age Groupers at Ironman Mont-Tremblant

Canadian Age Groupers at Ironman 70.3 Texas

Canadian Age Groupers at Ironman Los Cabos

Canadian Age Groupers at Ironman 70.3 Panama

Canadian Paratriathletes Earn World Championship Medals

Canadian age group standouts at Ironman Florida

Canadian Age Groupers at Ironman Canada

Canadian Age Groupers at Ironman Louisville

Canadian Age Group Results from Ironman 70.3 Florida

Canadian Age Groupers excel at Ironman 70.3 St. Croix

Introducing the Niagara Falls Half Iron Triathlon

XTERRA Ontario features three races in 2014