Home > News

Ruben Ruzafa and Nicky Samuels win the XTERRA World Championship

The swim start at the 2013 XTERRA World Championship
The swim start at the 2013 XTERRA World Championship.

Ruben Ruzafa wins his second XTERRA World title

Spain’s Ruben Rufaza Cueto swam 21:31 to trail the race leaders by 2 minutes, but he threw down the day’s top ride of 1:30:11 to take a 45 second lead with him out of T2. He then ran 39:53 to capture his second XTERRA World Championship – he last won in 2008.

Ruben Ruzafa riding the day's top split
Ruben Ruzafa riding the day’s top split.

“We knew that it was a really hot day, I drink a lot (of water). I drink three bottles on the bike so I can make it to the run relatively fresh. I pushed hard and I’m very, very happy,” said Ruzafa who was surprised to pass the other men during the bike. “Two (XTERRA) championships is really, really good for me. It’s a dream.”

Ruben Ruzafa wins the 2013 XTERRA World Championship
Ruben Ruzafa wins the 2013 XTERRA World Championship.


1 Ruben Rufaza Cueto 2:34:34 Spain

2 Asa Shaw 2:36:02 France

3 Ben Allen 2:36:25 Australia

4 Josiah Middaugh 2:37:45 USA

5 Braden Currie 2:39:06 New Zealand

6 Conrad Stoltz 2:39:32 South Africa

7 Nicolas Lebrun 2:40:58 France

8 Marvin Gruget 2:42:04 France

9 Leonardo Chacon 2:42:09 Costa Rica

10 Brice Daubord 2:43:01 France

Nicky Samuels makes an impressive debut

New Zealand’s Nicky Samuels swam 19:51 and biked 1:49:36 to take close to a 4 minute lead onto the run. Scotland’s Lesley Paterson, the two-time defending champion chased hard with the top run of 43:55 but the gap was too large. Samuels ran 45:32 to finish in 2:57:49 to secure the title in her first appearance at the XTERRA World Championship. Edmonton’s Chantell Widney was the top Canadian in 6th (3:04:37).

Leslie Paterson posts the fastest run in her title defence.
Leslie Paterson posts the fastest run in her title defence.

“A bit shocked, really. I didn’t know how my descending skills, or lack of, was going to stand up to the other girls,” said Samuels of her stunning debut. “I thought it would be hot and thought there would be a lot of sandy stuff on the bike. I guess that’s what it might have been, but more of a mountain bike course with berms and jumps and things. It was kind of like a school cross-country race when you’re 5 or 6. It was fun, something different and a nice way to end the season.”

Nicky Samuels wins the 2013 XTERRA World Championship
Nicky Samuels wins the 2013 XTERRA World Championship.


1 Nicky Samuels 2:57:49 New Zealand

2 Lesley Paterson 3:00:15 Scotland

3 Flora Duffy 3:00:20 Bermuda

4 Barbara Riveros 3:01:44 Chile

5 Emma Garrard 3:01:50 USA

6 Chantell Widney 3:04:37 Edmonton, CAN

7 Helena Erbenova 3:05:17 Czech Republic

8 Shonny Vanlandingham 3:05:44 USA

9 Jacqui Slack 3:05:53 Great Britain

10 Suzie Snyder 3:08:33 USA

16 Danelle Kabush 3:14:34 Calgary, CAN

17 Melanie McQuaid 3:21:28 Victoria, CAN

23 Katie Button 3:42:32 Victoria, CAN

Canadian Age Groupers continue to excel

Beverly Watson of Priddis, Alberta won the Women’s 60-64 division in 4:15:06 – her sixth age group World title. While, Calvin Zaryski of Calgary, Alberta won the Men’s 45-49 division in 2:58:32 – his fifth age group title.

The XTERRA World Championship has competitors completing a 1.5-kilometer (1-mile) rough water swim, a 30.4-kilometer (18.89-miles) mountain bike and a 9.5-kilometer (5.9 miles) trail run best described as a tropical roller-coaster ride through pineapple fields and forests.

Flinta and Taylor Win Outrigger Hotels & Resorts Double Awards

Martin Flinta from Sweden and Kathryn Taylor from Hawaii were the top amateurs in the Outrigger Hotels & Resorts “Double” award competition, given to the amateur man and woman with the fastest combined 2013 XTERRA World Championship and Ironman Hawaii Championship time. Flinta wins a 6-night stay at the Kapalua Villas and Taylor wins a 6-night stay at the Outrigger Napili Shores. Here’s a look at all those who survived the “Double”.

First Last Country Division IM XTERRA Double
Martin Flinta Sweden M40-44 9:30:45 2:58:27 12:29:12
Pablo Ureta Argentina M30-34 9:21:59 3:15:05 12:37:04
Richard Stoffel Switzerland M45-49 9:19:01 3:33:21 12:52:22
Tim Sheeper USA M50-54 9:45:13 3:13:38 12:58:51
Andrew Sellars Canada M40-44 9:41:41 3:17:26 12:59:07
Leandro Gonzalez Argentina M35-39 9:48:18 3:31:08 13:19:26
Ricky Simonsen New Zealand M45-49 9:59:43 3:28:37 13:28:20
brent lorenzen USA M40-44 10:03:37 3:30:45 13:34:22
Randal Walker Canada M55-59 10:22:28 3:33:18 13:55:46
Kirk Vandeweghe Canada M45-49 10:58:40 3:23:08 14:21:48
Kathryn Taylor USA F25-29 10:50:35 4:36:46 15:27:21
Rudy Becker USA M40-44 11:45:24 3:53:30 15:38:54
Beverly Watson Canada F60-64 11:50:41 4:15:05 16:05:46

* All images courtesy of XTERRA.