Home > News

Riveros Diaz wins in Sydney

Tremblay 30th.

Chile’s Barbara Riveros Diaz surprised many in Sydney today, outsprinting New Zealand’s Andrea Hewitt and Australia’s Emma Moffatt to win race one of the Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Series.

“I was a bit nervous heading into the final lap,” Riveros Diaz said to the ITU Media. “I’m usually not very good at a sprint finish, but today it all worked out very well.”

By the final lap of the run, the lead group of Moffatt, Riveros Diaz, Hewitt and Japan’s Mariko Adachi opened up a gap of 35 seconds on the next closest group behind them. And as they stormed down the final hill with less than 800 metres to go, Riveros Diaz was the first to make a move, but Hewitt quickly responded and pulled the group back together. Riveros put in another surge as she made the final turn into the finishing chute and this time she couldn’t be caught, stopping the clock in 2:04:19, with Hewitt only a second behind, and Moffatt further behind by another second. Montreal’s Kathy Tremblay was 3oth (2:08:37).

“We really pushed each other hard on the run,” Hewitt said, who had a remarkable race considering she broke her shoulder just two months ago. “Barbara was just too tough coming down that final hill and I couldn’t stay with her. She was amazing today.”

Elite Women Results

1. Barbara Riveros Diaz (CHI) 2:04:19
2. Andrea Hewitt (NZL) 2:04:19
3. Emma Moffatt (AUS) 2:04:20
4. Mariko Adachi (JPN) 2:04:30
5. Lisa Norden (SWE) 2:04:48
6. Kate Roberts (RSA) 2:04:49
7. Jessica Harrison (FRA) 2:05:01
8. Sarah Haskins (USA) 2:05:01
9. Daniela Ryf (SUI) 2:05:06
10. Vicky Holland (GBR) 2:05:16

30. Kathy Tremblay (CAN) 2:08:37

World Championship Standings after Round 1 of 8

1. Barbara Riveros Diaz (CHI) 800pts
2. Andrea Hewitt (NZL) 740pts
3. Emma Moffatt (AUS) 685pts
4. Mariko Adachi (JPN) 633pts
5. Lisa Norden (SWE) 586pts