Home > News

Previewing Saturday’s Third and Final Ironman St. George

Twelsiek, Hoffman, McDonald, Kessler, Arendt, and Bromme headline the field.

Unless it comes back as a full Ironman distance race, this Saturday’s Ironman St. George will be the third and final edition of one of the more challenging races on the Ironman circuit.

So who’s racing? Kelowna’s Heather Wurtele, the only women’s winner of this race, will not return to defend her title. Last year’s men’s winner, Switzerland’s Mathias Hecht, also will not return so there will be new champions for this farewell race – it will be back as an Ironman 70.3 race next year.

Germany’s Maik Twelsiek, one of the premier cyclists in this sport, should come off the bike with a sizeable lead in the tough bike course. Nevertheless, he will face a stiff challenge by Ironman race winners Ben Hoffman (USA), and Chris McDonald (AUS).

American Meredith Kessler, the 2010 Ironman Canada champion and second in St. George that same rookie year as a pro, headlines the women’s field. The second and third place finishers from last year, Jackie Arendt (USA) and Uli Bromme (GER) will return to rise to the top of the podium.



Edwards Billy

Franks Logan

Gerlach Thomas

Halpin Brendan

Hoffman Ben

McDonald Chris

Moser Ernst

Nelson Kirk

O’Meara Adam CAN

Russell Matthew

Schifferle Mike

Sheeks Matthew

Still Monte

Taddonio Kevin

Thurston Heath

Twelsiek Maik

Vondracek Jesse

Wygand Richard

Young Dantley

Zeebroek Axel

Arendt Jackie

Bromme Uli

Clayton Gillian CAN

Deim Trish

Donavan Jessie

Kessler Meredith

Madison Mackenzie

Smith Jessica

Spitler Erin

Young Erin