Home > News

Previewing ITU Tiszaujavros Triathlon World Cup in Hungary

The unique Semifinals and Finals format returns.

The ITU World Cup season continues with its annual pilgrimage to Hungary this weekend for the iconic Tiszaujvaros World Cup. Last year saw the introduction of an exciting sprint semi final and final structure and this unique race format has been maintained for the 2013 event.

Both the men’s and women’s races will showcase talented fields with athletes like Aileen Reid (IRL), Ai Ueda (JPN), Annamaria Mazzetti (ITA), Alexander Bryukhankov (RUS), and Peter Kerr (AUS) on the lineup.


Tiszaujvaros is just two hours from Budapest and thanks to its status as the second longest running ITU event, is known as the triathlon capital of Hungary. The World Cup has one of the best atmospheres of any on the ITU calendar and is a summer tradition in Tiszaujvaros, as the event has a festival like atmosphere. ITU legends like Emma Carney, Hamish Carter, Loretta Harrop and Javier Gomez have all topped the podium at the event affectionately known as “Tiszy”.


Elite Women

Semi-finals – Saturday 10 August – from 15:30 (UTC/GMT +2)  Time in your area

Final – Sunday 11 August – 15:45

Elite Men

Semi-finals – Saturday 10 August from 16:10 (UTC/GMT +2) Time in your area

Final – Sunday 11 August – 17:00




Women’s semifinal 1 start list

Women’s semifinal 2 start list

Men’s semifinal 1 start list

Men’s semifinal 2 start list

Men’s semifinal 3 start list

Men’s semifinal 4 start list


Live timing and text coverage from Tiszaujvaros will be available on race day at triathlon.org/live or at @triathlonlive on Twitter.
TOTAL PRIZE MONEY: $60,000 USD (equal for men & women)



Swim – 750m – Three laps of a 250m swim circuit with a pontoon start, wetsuits are not expected

Bike – 20km – Two laps of a mostly flat circuit

Run – 5km – Three laps of a most flat and fast run


Swim – 750m – Three laps of a 250m swim circuit with a pontoon start, wetsuits are not expected Bike – 20km – Eight laps of a mostly flat course Run – 5km – Four laps of a mostly flat and fast run course

Course map


New format: This ITU World Cup marks the debut of the new multi-round, multi-day sprint format. The 2012 event will be decided over two days, with sprint distance semifinals held on Saturday and then a sprint distance final on the Sunday. The total number of entries will decide the number of semifinals – four for the men and two for the women on Saturday with a maximum of 30 athletes in each semifinal, which will start as waves. Every semifinal will qualify a fixed number of athletes for the final and additionally a number of athletes will qualify based on the best times. For example, if the total field is between 31 and 60, there will be two semifinals, the top 14 in each will go through to the final and a further two will go through on time, creating a final field of 30. A full breakdown of the numbers and rules can be found on page 55, section 20 of the ITU Competition Rules.

Elite Women
Aileen Reid (IRL) will wear the number one race jersey in the opening semi final for the women. Reid will battle with Ai Ueda (JPN), who comes into this event in fine form after winning the 2013 World Games title in Cali a few weeks ago. Australia’s athletes enjoyed a lot of success in this format last year and Natalie Van Coevorden and Tamsyn Moana-Veale will be confident of progression to the final, as will Great Britain’s Katie Hewison. Annamaria Mazzetti (ITA) leads the charge in the second semi final. Charlotte McShane (AUS) comfortably made last year’s final, finishing second in her semi final before just missing out on a podium in the final. Felicity Sheedy-Ryan (AUS) is another athlete in good form following her victory in Geneva last month and Eszter Dudas (HUN) will be keen to do well on home soil.

Elite Men
A mouth-watering field will line up in the men’s first semi final with Under23 European Champion Florin Salvisberg (SUI) taking on the power of Alexander Bryukhankov (RUS). Peter Kerr leads the men’s second heat. The Aussie started his season off with a bang finishing third at the Mooloolaba World Cup. Aaron Harris (GBR) and Akos Vanek (HUN), who were second and third respectively here in the 2011 World Cup, meet again in Heat 2. Gregory Rouault (FRA) has two World Cup wins under his belt already in 2013 and will look to claim his hat-trick in this race format.

Team ITU
Team ITU will also be in action this weekend, with Militzia Riós La Luz (PUR), Melissa Riós La Luz (PUR), Tea Milos (CRO) and Monika Orazem (SLO) competing in the women’s race, while Ron Darmon (ISR), Felipe Barraza (CHI) and Emil Stoynev (BUL) will lineup in the men’s event. The athletes will be coached by Luc Morin of Canada, as well as Hungary’s own Dr. Zsolt Szakály.


– It is the 17th straight year that an ITU World Cup has been held in Tiszaujvaros. The town made its debut in 1997 and it is the second longest running ITU event, only behind Ishigaki which started in 1996.
– The last four years have seen debut ITU World Cup titles in both the men’s and women’s races, with Dmitry Polyanskiy, Reinaldo Colucci, Brent McMahon and Pierre LeCorre all stepping onto the top of a World Cup podium for the first time in Tiszaujvaros. – Australia have so far been the most successful nation in Tiszy, with nine titles, while New Zealand are second with five total wins.

Past Tiszaujvaros ITU Triathlon World Cup winners

WOMEN                                                         MEN

2012     Ashleigh Gentle (AUS)                             Pierre LeCorre (FRA)

2011     Gwen Jorgensen (USA)                            Brent McMahon (CAN)

2010     Yuliya Yelistratova (UKR)                         Reinaldo Colucci (BRA)

2009     Kate McIlroy (NZL)                                 Dmitry Polyanskiy (RUS)

2008     Andrea Whitcombe (GBR)                        Javier Gomez (ESP)

2007     Samantha Warriner (NZL)                        Javier Gomez (ESP)

2006     Joelle Franzmann (GER)                           Brad Kahlefeldt (AUS)

2005     Annabel Luxford (AUS)                            Dmitriy Gaag (KAZ)

2004     Anja Dittmer (GER)                                Shane Reed (NZL)

2003     Anja Dittmer (GER)                                Volodymyr Polikarpenko (UKR)

2002     Siri Lindley (USA)                                   Craig Walton (AUS)

2001     Siri Lindley (USA)                                   Martin Krnavek (CZE)

2000     Loretta Harrop (AUS)                             Martin Krnavek (CZE)

1999     Loretta Harrop (AUS)                             Hamish Carter (NZL)

1998     Loretta Harrop (AUS)                             Hamish Carter (NZL)

1997     Emma Carney (AUS)                             Craig Walton (AUS)