Home > News

ITU selects Technical Triathlon Officials for London 2012

Buchanan, Markham, and Schuetze are the Canadians selected.

The International Triathlon Union (ITU) is pleased to announce the 42 Technical Officials who will oversee and officiate the triathlon competition at the London Olympic Games.  The selected officials hail from a record number of nations, with 25 different countries represented, three more than at the Beijing Olympic Games.

Since Beijing 2008, the selected group of technical officials has overseen a combined 190 events at the ITU World Triathlon Series, World Championships and World Cups.

Seven nations will officiate at the Olympic Games for the first time, a result of ITU’s comprehensive technical officials’ education programme and focus on increased development.

The duties of the Technical Officials are to conduct the competition in accordance with the ITU Competition Rules.  They are assigned to registration, start, finish, transition area, swim, bike, run, wheel stations, aid stations, technology and vehicle control.  An adequate number of technical officials will be assigned to each area and will be responsible for the enforcement of ITU Competition Rules within their assigned jurisdiction.

At the top are the two Technical Delegates (TDs)–Leslie Buchanan (CAN) and Thanos Nikopoulos (GRE)–who oversee all aspects of the event on behalf of ITU.

The 27 International Technical Officials (ITOs) in alphabetical order by surname are:

Omar Abu Bakar (SIN), Shanelle Barrett (NZL), Dirk Bogaert (BEL), Joyce Donaldson (USA), Juliet Fahey (NZL), Dominique Frizza (FRA), Rick Fulton (ZIM), Andreas Galanos (GRE), Jorge Garcia (ESP), Murray Hilder (AUS), Yolanda Ibarra (MEX), Stephanie Kraus (LUX), Casper Kriel (RSA), Alan Ma (MAC), David Markham (CAN), Stefane Mauris (SUI), Hugh McAtamney (IRL), Roberto Menescal (BRA), Felix Molina (MEX), Laura Patti (ITA), Patty Petty (BER), Jianqiu Qin (CHN), Rachel Ribo (PHI), Esther Sanchez (Arribas ESP), Fernando Suarez Perez (CHI), Kiriyo Suzuki (JPN), Dr. Bela Varga (HUN)

There will be two reserve ITOs:

1st reserve – Jacqui Kenney (AUS), 2nd reserve – Ulf Schuetze (CAN)

The Medical Official will be Dr Sergio Migliorini (ITA), who also serves as Chair of the ITU Medical Committee.

The 10 National Technical Officials (NTOs) in alphabetical order by surname:

Masie Bancewicz (GBR), Lynda Chase (GBR), Paul Groves (GBR), Duncan Hough (GBR), Mike Masters (GBR), Terry Race(GBR), Tom Roberts (GBR), Sarah Taylor (GBR), Howard Vine (GBR), Jane Vine (GBR)

All assignments will be announced at a later date.

Find out more at the ITU’s Olympic website