Home > News

ITU Revamps World Triathlon Series Scoring System


Photo by ITU
Photo by ITU

The International Triathlon Union (ITU)  announced yesterday that they would be changing the World Triathlon Series scoring system for the 2014 season, including the qualifying process for the 2014  Mixed Relay World Championships. The change was made to encourage more athletes to compete in the WTS.

Under the new system athletes can now score at five instead of four, of the seven World Triathlon Series events in addition to the Grand Final. The amount of points awarded for each race will remain at 800 points, with the Grand Final again offering 1200 points. The Grand Finale will take place in Edmonton,  from August 26-September 2.


THe  WTS season begins in Auckland on April 5-6 . Culminating in the Grand Finale, there are events on the 2014 roster in Cape Town, Yokohama, London, Chicago, Hamburg and Stockholm.

Last year’s  Mixed Relay World Championships in Hamburg was a huge success and will be repeated this year on July 13. As the host nation, Germany automatically qualifies for the race, as do the top 11 teams from the 2013 World Championships. A maximum of 20 teams will compete with the qualification period ending 60 days prior to the championship race.

For more info: www.triathlon.org