Home > News

ITU Prize Money and Gold Group athletes for 2011

Whitfield & Findlay are Canada's Gold Group athletes.

The International Triathlon Union (ITU) is pleased to confirm the prize money and initial Gold Group athletes for the 2011 Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Series.

Prize money from the seven Series events and the year-end bonus pool will total $1.65-million (all funds USD). The Grand Final in Beijing-contested on the 2008 Olympic venue-will feature a $250 000 prize purse while the prize money for every other Series event will be $150 000. Athletes will vie for an additional $500 000 in the year-end bonus pool which pays the top 20 ranked women and men at season’s end.

Click here for a complete prize money breakdown (pdf)

A star-studded group of World Champions and Olympic medallists have been selected for the 2011 Gold Group. The Gold Group was established in 2009 as a means of raising the profile of the outstanding triathletes, their National Federations, and to build global awareness of triathlon’s stars. The prominent squad of ten women and ten men will act as the premier athlete ambassadors of the ITU, encouraging the general public and youth to participate in the sport. The Gold Group athletes will enjoy the privilege of securing extra quota slots for their respective countries at each Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Series race.  Click here for more on the Gold Group (pdf)

In all, the group includes eight Olympic medals and ten World Championship titles with all five continents represented. The athletes are chosen according to the following selection criteria: top three at Beijing 2008 Olympic Games and the highest ranked in the 2010 ITU World Championship Series rankings.

Alongside of the last year’s Gold Group, new faces on the women’s list are Paula Findlay (CAN), Kate Roberts (RSA) and Vicky Holland (GBR), while Joao Silva (POR) and Sven Riederer (SUI) are the new names among the men.

2011 Gold Group Athletes – Women

Emma Snowsill (AUS)
Emma Moffatt (AUS)
Nicola Spirig (SUI)
Lisa Norden (SWE)
Helen Jenkins (GBR)
Paula Findlay (CAN)
Andrea Hewitt (NZL)
Kate Roberts (RSA)
Vicky Holland (GBR)
Mariko Adachi (JPN)

2011 Gold Group Athletes – Men
Jan Frodeno (GER)
Simon Whitfield (CAN)
Bevan Docherty (NZL)
Javier Gomez (ESP)
Steffen Justus (GER)
Brad Kahlefeldt (AUS)
Joao Silva (POR)
Alistair Brownlee (GBR)
Sven Riederer (SUI)
Alexander Brukhankov (RUS)

The Gold Group will be modified after the third round of the Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Series in Madrid, scheduled on 4-5 June. In addition to top three at Beijing 2008 Olympic Games and top three at the 2010 Series rankings, the 2011 standings will be considered for the selections.