Home > News

ITU opens bid process for 2014 World Triathlon Series

Edmonton will host the 2014 Grand Final.

The International Triathlon Union (ITU) has opened bidding for the 2014 World Triathlon Series to all National Federations and cities interested in hosting one of the eight flagship events.

The elected cities will join Hamburg, London, Yokohama and Auckland as confirmed hosts of the popular race series. Edmonton, Canada will also host the 2014 ITU Triathlon World Championship Grand Final.

“With ever increasing media exposure and electric racing, the ITU World Triathlon Series is a pinnacle focus of the triathlon community,” said ITU President and IOC Member Marisol Casado. “The sport’s growing popularity provides cities with the opportunity to gain global exposure and create a positive economic impact while promoting a healthy lifestyle to its citizens.”

The ITU World Triathlon Series is the premier triathlon series in the world and features the top triathletes racing head-to-head in cities around the globe. In addition to competing for the title of World Champion, athletes vie for a total prize purse of approximately $2-million USD, the greatest cumulative prize money in triathlon. The series is comprised of Olympic and sprint distance events, with one race also selected to host the Triathlon Mixed Relay World Championships.

Hosting a WTS event offers cities the opportunity to showcase themselves to millions of people via an international television audience in addition to attracting thousands of international guests and race participants. The 2012 season saw record high participation and an 18% increase in television exposure resulting from more than 1,000 hours of broadcast.

Each race will again be broadcast live to an international audience in 2014, in addition to offering a 52-minute highlight show as well as live internet coverage, social media exposure and worldwide news distribution.

Cities interested in hosting a World Triathlon Series event must submit bid documents in conjunction with their respective National Federations by 10 July 2013.