Home > News

ITU names new sponsor

Oakley joins the ITU World Championship Series.

The International Triathlon Union today announced Oakley as the Official Global Eyewear Sponsor of the Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Series.

Arguably the most recognisable eyewear brand in the world, Oakley will be the seventh global partner of the world’s premier triathlon series, which has created major sponsorship and broadcast opportunities since launching in 2009.

Current Oakley athletes include Olympic gold medallists Emma Snowsill and Jan Frodeno, World Champions Javier Gomez and Emma Moffatt, and a bevy of World Cup winners and Olympians such as Brad Kahlefeldt, Lisa Norden, Nicola Spirig and Kris Gemmell.

Last year 21,000 athletes competed in mass-participation races in front of 700,000 spectators and global television audiences in 149 countries.  It is expected to attract higher numbers in 2011, helping Series sponsors and partners extend their reach to wider audiences.

“With its product quality, Oakley has been favoured by many triathletes from elite to amateur competitors,” said Marisol Casado, ITU President and IOC Member. “The new partnership will earn big cheers from existing fans and attract new audiences through the exciting sport of triathlon.”

“Oakley is a global high profile brand that ITU is excited to develop successful partnerships with. Attracting Oakley as global partners of the Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championships Series is another clear statement that we are successfully establishing the series as a major sports platform,” added Paul Coleman, Managing Director of ITU World Championship Series.

Entering its third year, the Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Series is the premier triathlon series in the world and the most competitive.  Athletes compete in seven Series events vying for the title of ITU Triathlon World Champion.  In 2011, the Series will be staged in seven world-class sites.  Starting off in Sydney in April and touching down in Yokohama, Madrid, Kitzbühel, Hamburg, London and finishing in Beijing for the Grand Final in September.