Home > News

ITU Athletes’ Committee Election Results

Harrison and Gemmell are re-elected, and the committee includes two paratriathletes for the first time.

Following the conclusion of the 25th ITU Congress, the International Triathlon (ITU) is pleased to announce the election of eight athlete representatives from seven countries to its Athlete Committee. Double Olympians Jessica Harrison (FRA) and Kris Gemmell (NZL) were re-elected for another consecutive two-year term, in addition to five athletes, which includes two paratriathletes for the first time.

The newly elected representatives include Ai Ueda (JPN), Steve Sexton (USA) and Gregor Bucholz (GER), as well as paratriathletes Claire Cunningham (GBR) and Santos Caballero Gonzalez (ESP).

“The Athletes’ Committee is an integral part of our organisation,” ITU President and IOC Member Marisol Casado said. “Their representation is vital to ensuring athlete wants and needs remain the foremost important focus of ITU. I am confident the athletes elected will do a spectacular job in their new roles.”


Jessica Harrison (FRA)

Ai Ueda (JPN)

Claire Cunningham (GBR) – paratriathlete


Gregor Bucholz (GER)

Kris Gemmell (NZL)

Steve Sexton (USA)

Laurent Vidal (FRA)

Santos Caballero Gonzalez (ESP) – paratriathlete

The election was decided at the finale of the ITU World Triathlon Series during elite, Under23 and paratriathlon athlete briefings. A secure online voting system was opened during the 25th ITU Congress to ensure all athletes not in Auckland were also able to vote.

The ITU Athletes’ Committee is comprised of ten representatives from a minimum of three continents with equal representation from men and women. An additional two women will be appointed to complete the full five allotted slots on the committee.

Athletes will hold the position for a term of two years and are responsible for representing their peers by serving as liaisons between athletes, ITU staff and the Executive Board. The ITU Athletes’ Committee receives two votes at the ITU Congress and one vote on the Executive Board.

Click here for more information on the Athletes’ Committee