Home > News

Ironman Malaysia Results

Wins for Vanhoenacker and Granger.

The typical heat and humidity of Langkawi, Malaysia (33 plus degrees) lay a beating on the competitors, and so did Marino Vanhoenacker (BEL) and Belinda Granger (AUS).

Belgium’s Vanhoenacker, stayed close to the front after the swim (52:25), crushed the rest of the field with an untouchable 4:21:01 bike leg, then put in a solid 3:06:44 marathon – only Japan’s Hiroyuki Nishiuchi would run faster (3:04:42), for a 28 minute 21 second victory. Vanhoenacker raced today in Malaysia in order to nail down his nutrition for Kona (where in October he could not keep anything down in the heat), so you certainly have to add his name to the mix this time around at the Ironman World Championships later this year.

Similarly, Australia’s Granger dominated the women’s race with an 11 minute margin of victory, due in large part to her 4:53:50 bike split (Niederfriniger came the closest to that bike time – 15:56), then ran a comfortable 3:31:09 to win her third Ironman Malaysia title in a row.

The top Canadians were Miranda Alldritt 13:05:15 (9th pro woman, 23rd female), and 42 year old Eddy Smith 11:17:21 (12th men 40-44).

1.  Marino Vanhoenacker (BEL)  8:22:31
2.  Hiroyuki Nishiuchi (JPN)  8:50:52
3.  Romaine Guillaume (FRA)  8:54:38
4.  Justin Granger (AUS)  9:01:08
5.  Andres Venhorst (GER)  9:12:03
6.  Hirotsugu Kuwabara (JPN)  9:17:26
7.  Miklos Vatai (HUN)  9:22:06  *M30-34
8.  Freddy Lampret (RSA)  9:41:18
9.  Jens Wilkens (GER)  9:46:32  *M 30-34
10.  Jozef Vrabel (SVK)  10:01:01

1.  Belinda Granger (AUS)  9:23:33
2.  Edith Niederfriniger (ITA)  9:35:02
3.  Hillary Biscay (USA)  10:10:59
4.  Ariane Monteceli (BRA)  10:15:17
5.  Jocelyn Wong (USA)  10:20:32
6.  Kimiko Senzai (JPN)  10:26:24  *W25-29
7.  Inge Vancauwenberghe (BEL)  10:47:07
8.  Emma Bishop (MYS)  11:05:58  *W35-39
9.  Sueli Braz (BRA)  11:07:43  *W35-39
10.  Belinda Harrison (AUS)  11:14:43