Home > News

Ironman Lottery Winners from Canada

Five Canadians are in, out of the one hundred selected

Out of the 100 lucky 2012 Ironman Lottery winners, 5 are Canadian:

Rick Choy 48 CAN ON

Corey Essar 42 CAN AB

Don McIntosh 70 CAN BC

Myron Tetreault 45 CAN AB

Kevin Donegan 38 CAN AB

The Ironman Lottery began in 1983 thanks to the vision of one of Ironman’s founders, John Collins, as a way to provide athletes ranging in ability the opportunity to qualify for the Ironman World Championship.

Also, 9 Canadians received entry into the 2012 Ironman World Championships through the Ironman Legacy Program:

Michael Gade 44 CAN ON

Randy Dobko 51 CAN AB

Dianne Dul  52 CAN NT

Denis Morel 53 CAN ON

Doug MacKenzie 55 CAN SK

Gilles Simard 55 CAN ON

Dave Maskell 58 CAN AB

Garry Nitschke 61 CAN AB

Daniel Callahan 61 CAN ON

The Ironman Legacy Program grants loyal Ironman athletes an opportunity to compete in Kona at least once in their lifetime. To be eligible for selection through the Legacy Program, athletes must have completed a minimum of 12 full-distance Ironman-branded races, have never started the Ironman World Championship, have completed at least one Ironman event in each of the 2010 and 2011 seasons and be registered for an Ironman event in 2012.

Congratulations to all! Now start training.