Home > News

Ironman Lake Placid Preview

Twelsiek is back to defend, and Snow hopes to win again on Sunday.

Germany’s Maik Twelsiek will attempt to defend his title Sunday at the 12th Ironman Lake Placid. There will definitely be a new champion on the women’s side since Canada’s Tereza Macel will not race after finishing 3rd in Roth last weekend. Our own resident blogger Tara Norton looks fresh and ready to go. Her biking prowess will serve her well on this challenging¬† bike course, but will she have enough to stay away from American’s Caitlin Snow (won Lake Placid in 2008 and possesses the run course record) and Amy Marsh (reigning Ironman Wisconsin champion)? Sunday’s race will give us the answer. Live coverage is available on Ironman.com

Below is the professional start list.


Maik Twelsiek

Jason Shortis

Ben Hoffman

Bryan Rhodes

Petr Vabrousek

Mike Caiazzo

Justin Daerr

Dave Harju

Mike Neill

Tim Snow

Chris Casey

Dominic Gillen

Ian Mikelson

Raymond Botelho

Nicholas Becker

Kyle Pawlaczyk

Jerome Bresson

Craig Howie

Brad Seng

Jason McMillan

Matthew Sheeks

Jesse Vondracek

Nat Faulkner

Arland Macasieb

John Hirsh

Shingo Tani

Julien Biboud

Billy Edwards

Blake Becker

Matthew Russell


Caitlin Snow

Amy Marsh

Carrie Lester

Tara Norton

Kate Pallardy

Charisa Wernick

Lisa Marangon

Kate Bevilaqua

Danielle Sullivan

April Lea Gellatly

Kelly Liljeblad

Anne Fallows

Jocelyn Wong

Miranda Alldritt

Molly Hummel