Home > News

Ironman 70.3 Austin goes Sunday

Cunningham set to defend, Wurtele, Naeth, Poulsen, and Symonds lead the Canadian contingent.

Australia’s Richie Cunningham is expected to defend his Ironman 70.3 Austin title on Sunday. A number of Canadians are in the field and should contend for the podium. See the list of registered professional athletes below – the Canadian’s are in bold.

Athletes will complete a 1.2 mile freshwater swim in Decker Lake, then cycle a one loop 56 miles course through rolling Texas farmland, and conclude with a 13.1 mile run through Walter E. Long Park, along the shores of Decker Lake and through the Travis County Expo Center grounds, finishing inside Luedecke Arena.

The first ever Ironman 70.3 U.S. Collegiate Championship will coincide with Ironman 70.3 Austin. This unique event will feature the very best collegiate teams and individuals in the U.S.A. The Collegiate athletes must be full-time students (undergrad or graduate) within the 2010-2011 academic year to be eligible for the championship.

Professional Start List


15 Marko Albert

33 Paul Amey

26 Bjorn Andersson

35 Jimmy Archer

40 Chris Bagg

9 Chris Boudreaux

4 Christopher Casey

6 James Cotter

25 James Cunnama

1 Richie Cunningham

13 Gerhard De Bruin

30 Stephen Dyke

8 Patrick Evoe

7 Joe Gambles

38 Matt Gloekler

3 Leon Griffin

32 Stephen Hackett

10 Dion Harrison

20 Andrew Hodges

5 Esben Hovgaard

2 David Kahn

27 Brandon Marsh

19 Ian Mikelson

14 Markus Mlinar

22 Justin Park

16 Jeffrey Peterson

39 Brent Poulsen

18 Bryan Rhodes

29 Zach Ruble

37 Matthew Russell

23 Brad Seng

11 Heinrich Sickl

36 Jeff Symonds

24 Anthony Toth

12 Cesar Valera

17 Jesse Vondracek

28 Jason Watson

31 Trevor Wurtele

34 Dantley Young


53 Marisa Asplund

71 Uli Bromme

65 Terra Castro

67 Annie Gervais

64 Lauren Harrison

62 Malaika Homo

61 Kristin Iavarone

50 Heather Jackson

58 Amy Kirkham

63 Nina Kraft

66 Tamsin Lewis

60 Jennifer Luebke

59 Jessica Meyers

68 Mary Miller

51 Angela Naeth

54 Kate Pallardy

55 Stacey Richardson

70 Nicola Spirig

56 Natasha Van Der Merwe

57 Charisa Wernick

52 Kelly Williamson

69 Heather Wurtele