Home > News

Gustav Iden and Flora Duffy take top honours at Global Triathlon Awards

Inaugural awards ceremony celebrates world's top triathletes and contributors

Photo by: Kevin Mackinnon

The inaugural Global Triathlon Awards (GTA) took place today in Nice, France, with many of the world’s top pros on hand for the gala evening. Staged by Super League Triathlon, the Professional Triathletes Organisation, World Triathlon, France’s Department 06 and Koi, many of the sport’s biggest names were on hand to recognized the outstanding racers of 2022, along with lifetime contributors.

While here at Triathlon Magazine we gave the “Male Triathlete of the Year,” award to Kristian Blummenfelt, the GTA awards panel opted for another Norwegian, Ironman world champ Gustav Iden, as the winner of the Best Male Triathlete Award. (And here at Triathlon Magazine, we can totally understand their choice – Iden is a worthy recipient!)

We were in agreement, though, when it came to picking the top female triathlete of 2022 – Flora Duffy received the nod from us, and also from the GTA panel.

Here’s a list of the winners along with the nominees:

Best Male Triathlete

  • Gustav Iden – winner
  • Kristian Blummenfelt
  • Alex Yee
  • Matthew Hauser
  • Hayden Wilde

Best Female Triathlete

  • Flora Duffy – winner
  • Ashleigh Gentle
  • Georgia Taylor-Brown
  • Lucy Charles-Barclay
  • Chelsea Sodaro

Rookie of the Year

  • Chelsea Sodaro – winner
  • Sam Laidlow
  • Connor Bentley
  • Katie Crowhurst
  • Kenji Nener

Outstanding Contributor

  • Talbot Cox, Video Producer & Triathlon Ambassador – winner
  • Sophia Saller, Entrepreneur Tri-Stats
  • Nicola Dick, British Triathlon Age Group Director Volunteer
  • Tanakorn Cheeptumrong, Triathlon Coach
  • Kelly O’Mara, Former Editor in Chief, Triathlete Magazine USA

The Lifetime Kudos – Contributor

  • Bob Babbitt – winner

The Lifetime Kudos – Pro Triathlete

  • Nicola Spirig – winner