Home > Feature

Four Canadian triathletes selected for Ironman’s 2016 Legacy Athletes


From press release.

Earlier today, Ironman announced its list of 100 athletes for the fifth year of its legacy program. The selected athletes have been awarded a spot on the 2016 Kona startline. Athletes were selected based on eligibility criteria. This year’s athletes range from ages 25 to 64 and represent 14 countries. Four triathletes from Canada have been selected as legacy athletes.

To be eligible for the Ironman Legacy Program, athletes must have met three criteria. They must have a completed a minimum of 12 full distance Ironman branded races, they must never have started an Ironman World Championship race in Kona, they must have completed at least one Ironman event in each of 2014, 2015 and finally they must be registered for an Ironman event in 2016. There is no placing or time-cutoff requirement for athletes to be eligible for the program.

“It is important for us to recognize and reward our most loyal and long-term athletes,” said Andrew Messick, CEO of Ironman.  “Our Legacy athletes are the heart of our sport and are powerful ambassadors. Their loyalty to and love of Ironman is inspiring.”

Canada’s four triathletes to have been selected for the 2016 Legacy Program are Patty Lynn Infusino, Andrew Lim, Kathryn MacKinnon and Sean C. McEvoy.