Home > News

Endurance Live Awards Announced


The 22nd edition of what’s been called the “Academy Awards of endurance sports” takes place on February 8th and will be co-hosted by the voice of Ironman, Mike Reilly and fellow Ironman Hall of Famer Bob Babbitt. The awards recognize exceptional talent and contribution to endurance sports.

Here are a few of the top awards to be handed out:

Competitor of the Year: Mirinda Carfrae. In 2013 she broke the Ironman World Championship course record on her way to her second title in Kona and became the first female Ironman World Champion to outsplit the male champion in the marathon.

Male Triathlete of the Year: Javier Gomez. The 2012 Olympic silver medalist showed his versatility in 2013 by winning the Hy-vee Triathlon with its $100,000 first place prize purse and the ITU world championship in London, but also by winning the Challenge event in Barcelona as well as Escape from Alcatraz.

Javier Gomez
Javier Gomez

North American Cyclist of the Year: Chris Horner. In 2013 he became the first American to win the Vuelta a Espana and, at the age of 41, the oldest cyclist to ever win a grand tour.

Chris Horner
Chris Horner



Celebrity Athlete of the Year: Hines Ward. He is a two-time Super Bowl champion, a Super Bowl MVP and Dancing With the Stars champion who lost 35 pounds on his way to finishing the Ironman World Championship in Kona, Hawaii.


Endurance Live Industry Award: Steve Furness. He is a two-time Olympian who tied the world record in the 200 meter individual medley in 1974, was the captain of the 1976 S.S. Olympic swim team and took home a bronze medal from the 1972 Olympics in Munich. He co- founded TYR sports back in 1985 and over the past 29 years, the company has been instrumental in the growth of pool and open water swimming as well as the sport of triathlon.


The Parade of Athletes kicks off the event with sports legends including:  Scott Tinley,  Matt Reed, Meb Keflezighi, Luke McKenzie, Heather Fuhr, Sarah Reinertsen, Michellie Jones, Tim O’Donnell, Julie Moss, Josh Cox, Lesley Paterson, Heather Jackson,and Paula Newby-Fraser.