Home > News

Brownlee repeats in Madrid

Jones is 23rd.

For the second year in a row, Britain’s Alistair Brownlee grabbed top spot at the ITU’s World Championship Series race in Madrid.

Russia’s Dmitry Polyansky led the field out of the water (17:57), and after the bike, Australia’s Courtney Atkinson sprinted out of transition – just as he did in Seoul one month ago. Soon afterwards, Brownlee pulled up alongside and the pair worked together to build a lead on their chasers, staying together until the final 500 metres of the 10-kilometre run.

At that moment, Brownlee surged and Atkinson could not match it, allowing Brownlee to cross the line alone (1:52:41) in his 2010 race debut.

“This win overshadows anything I did last year,” said the reigning ITU World Champion to the ITU Media, who thought he was running for second the entire time. “It was totally unexpected. This is by far the proudest victory I’ve ever had after what I’ve been through in the last couple of months.”

Atkinson finished second (1:52:51), and Switzerland’s Sven Riederer was third (1:53:07).

“I’m not at all disappointed to finish in second here again,” said Atkinson. “My legs really didn’t feel that great yesterday and I didn’t feel great starting the run, but I was able to hang onto Brownlee until the end. He’s clearly going to be the one to chase again this year.”

Oakville’s Kyle Jones finished 23rd (1:55:55). Russia’s Alexander Brukhankov still leads the world championship rankings heading into the next ITU WCS race in Hamburg on July 17.

Top 10 Elite Men

1. Alistair Brownlee (GBR)  1:52:41

2. Courtney Atkinson (AUS)  1:52:51

3. Sven Riederer (SUI)  1:53:07

4. Javier Gomez (ESP)  1:53:17

5. Steffen Justus (GER)  1:53:39

6. Jan Frodeno (GER)  1:53:59

7. Joao Silva (POR)  1:54:00

8. Dmitry Polyansky (RUS)  1:54:22

9. Jarrod Shoemaker (USA)  1:54:26

10. Alexander Brukhankov (RUS)  1:54:32

23. Kyle Jones  (CAN)  1:55:55

ITU World Championship Series Rankings (after race 3 of 7)

1. Alexander Brukhankov (RUS) 1723

2. Dmitry Polyansky (RUS) 1639

3. Courtney Atkinson (AUS) 1480

4. Jan Frodeno (GER) 1413

5. Bevan Docherty (NZL) 1301