Home > News

Brown wins his 10th Ironman New Zealand

Warriner gets a win in her Ironman debut.

New Zealand’s Cameron Brown and Samantha Warriner took home wins today at the 27th Ironman New Zealand.

Kiwi Brent Foster, 44, set the tone for the day by leading the swim (46:02), from that point forward the race favourites emerged as expected.

Sixth out of the water (50:21), Brown biked up to the leaders (4:43:04), but it was Canada’s Scott Curry who took the bull by the horns and made everyone chase him after the 55 km mark of the bike.  His 4:39:59 race best ride gave him a 2:45 lead over Brown as he headed out of T2. However, Brown, one of the top runners in the sport, passed Curry at the 8.5 km mark and ran a race best 2:52:09 marathon to take his 10th Ironman New Zealand win in 8:31:07. Fellow Kiwi Terenzo Bozzone finished second for the third year in a row (8:41:54), and Switzerland Mathias Hecht got third in 8:45:36. Calgary’s Curry hung on for fifth (8:50:44).

Warriner, making her Ironman debut, earned her win with the top women’s bike split (5:10:39), along with taking advantage of the unfortunate tire punctures of her two biggest threats – Ironman World Champion Mirinda Carfrae, and seven time Ironman New Zealand Champion Joanna Lawn. Warriner ran 3:20:52 and crossed the line in 9:28:24, while Carfrae ran a women’s best 3:01:06 marathon to get second (9:31:33) – she started the run 22:49 behind Warriner, and Lawn finished third just 20 seconds back (9:31:53).


1 BROWN, Cameron (NZL)  8:31:07

2 BOZZONE, Terenzo (NZL)  8:41:54

3 HECHT, Mathias (SUI)  8:45:36

4 WILLIAMS, Keegan (NZL)  8:49:34

5 CURRY, Scott (CAN)  8:50:44

6 HARRISON, Luke (AUS)  8:58:14

7 VABROUSEK, Petr (CZE)  8:58:30

8 GASKIN, Deano (NZL)  9:07:10

9 BAYLY, Richard (NZL)  9:10:05

10 GAGE, Stephen (AUS)  9:10:41


1 WARRINER, Samantha (NZL)  9:28:24

2 CARFRAE, Mirinda (AUS)  9:31:33

3 LAWN, Joanna (NZL)  9:31:53

4 BEVILAQUA, Kate (AUS)  9:40:01

5 HARPER, Belinda (NZL)  9:40:33