Home > News

Big Payday for Snowsill and Don

Findlay gets fourth.

Australia’s Emma Snowsill showed everyone today that she is recovered from her injury and is back to top form, winning the her second Hy-Vee ITU Triathlon Elite Cup in Des Moines, Iowa in a time of 1:59:35. She beat fellow Aussie Emma Moffatt (last year’s champion) by 16 seconds. Snowsill ran a race best 34:05, to make up a one minute deficit out of T2 to take the win and the $200 000 first place prize. Edmonton’s Paula Findlay grabbed fourth place and $20 000, thanks to having the second best run (34:59).

“I was angry about my position after the bike, so I used that aggression,” said Snowsill to the ITU Media. “I wanted to reel in as many girls as I could.”

Tim Don (GBR) won the men’s event in 1:50:20. He blasted out of T2 at a torrid pace, building a 20 second lead over his chasers by the end of the first lap (of four). As it turned out, that tactic worked perfectly for Don, because the chase pack was unable to make up that margin throughout the run. New Zealand’s Kris Gemmell finished second (1:50:24), and Australia’s Courtney Atkinson was third (1:50:28). Oakville’s Kyle Jones finished 13th (1:51:17), while fellow Canadians Jeffrey Phillips and Simon Whitfield did not finish.

“This feels absolutely amazing,” said Don. “I felt great at the start of the run and just tried to hang on for the whole thing. I was really hurting to hold them off at the end.”

Top 10 Women

1. Emma Snowsill (AUS)  1:59:35

2. Emma Moffatt (AUS)  1:59:51

3. Helen Jenkins (GBR)  1:59:51

4. Paula Findlay (CAN)  1:59:54

5. Andrea Hewitt (NZL)  2:00:01

6. Laura Bennett (USA)  2:00:18

7. Jodie Stimpson (GBR)  2:00:25

8. Nicky Samuels (NZL)  2:01:14

9. Liz Blatchford (GBR)  2:01:30

10. Daniela Ryf (SUI)  2:01:38

22. Kathy Tremblay (CAN)  2:04:38

26. Kyla Coates (CAN)  2:05:32

Top 10 Men

1. Tim Don (GBR)  1:50:20

2. Kris Gemmell (NZL) 1:50:23

3. Courtney Atkinson (AUS) 1:50:28

4. Bevan Docherty (NZL)  1:50:34

5. Jan Frodeno (GER)  1:50:36

6. William Clarke (GBR)  1:50:39

7. Dmitry Polyansky (RUS)  1:50:43

8. Dan Wilson (AUS)  1:50:46

9. Jarrod Shoemaker (USA)  1:50:49

10. Clark Ellice (NZL)  1:50:53

13. Kyle Jones (CAN)  1:51:17

42. Andrew Russell (CAN)  1:54:01

56. Andrew McCartney (CAN)  1:57:36