Home > News

Abu Dhabi Triathlon Results

Dibens and Llanos win.

Spain’s Eneko Llanos and the UK’s Julie Dibens won the inaugural Abu Dhabi International Triathlon today, each taking home $50 000 US for their efforts.

Dibens, the reining Ironman 70.3 and XTERRA World Champion, dominated the women’s race, leading from start to finish in the longest race she has ever competed in. Fellow countrywoman, Leanda Cave was second, followed by Spain’s Virginia Berasategui Luna.

Meanwhile, Llanos made up a 51 second deficit out of T2 and ran his way to victory, 53 seconds ahead of Luxembourg’s Dirk Bockel. Denmark’s Rasmus Henning was third.

Toronto’s Tereza Macel finished 10th, and our resident blogger, Tara Norton finished 15th. Tara will surely give you an insiders look into the race with a blog post soon. Stay tuned.

Top Ten Professional Results


1.  Julie Dibens (UK)  7:08:25

2.  Leanda Cave (UK)  7:12:23

3.  Virginia Berasategui Luna (ESP)  7:18:23

4.  Caroline Steffen (SUI)  7:21:01

5.  Carrie Lester (AUS)  7:23:04

6.  Tine Deckers (BEL)  7:25:22

7.  Yvonne Van Vlerken (NED)  7:26:05

8.  Lucie Zelenkova (CZE)  7:26:33

9.  Rebekah Keat (AUS)  7:29:13

10.  Tereza Macel (CAN)  7:29:27

15.  Tara Norton (CAN)  7:39:35


1.  Eneko Llanos (ESP)  6:34:37

2.  Dirk Bockel (LUX)  6:35:30

3.  Rasmus Henning (DEN)  6:36:07

4.  Fraser Cartmell (SCO)  6:36:12

5.  Frederik Van Lierde (BEL)  6:36:31

6.  Faris Al-Sultan (GER)  6:37:53

7.  Jordan Rapp (USA)  6:38:02

8.  Andi Boecherer (GER)  6:38:48

9.  Maik Twelsiek  (GER)  6:39:40

10.  Raynard Tissink (RSA)  6:41:48