Home > News

10th Ironman Brazil this Sunday

Ironman 70.3 Austria on the same day.

This Sunday, Eduardo Sturla (ARG) and Dede Griesbauer (USA) will return to Florianopolis to defend their titles at the tenth edition of Ironman Brazil.

Sturla has competed at every edition of the race, winning 3 titles (2009, 2008, and 2001), highlighted by his 8:13:39 and bike course record last year. Oscar Galindez, fellow Argentinean and three time champion (2007, 2006, and 2003), also returns Sunday after missing last year due to illness. Also a threat for the overall men’s win are Brazil’s Reinaldo Colucci (second in 2009 and 2007), and Australia’s Luke McKenzie (a four-time Ironman champion).

Looking to de-throne Griesbauer will be Canada’s own Tereza Macel (2009 Ironman Lake Placid and Canada Champion) and Donna Phelan, Brazil’s Fernanda Keller (a three-time Ironman champion), and the USA’s Hillary Biscay (2008 Ironman Wisconsin Champion) fresh off an 11th place finish in Lanzarote last week.

Live coverage will be available at ironman.com

Also taking place on Sunday is Ironman 70.3 Austria (St. Pölten). Chris McCormack (AUS) and Sandra Wallenhorst (GER) will be back to defend their titles. Attempting to take away those titles will be Michael Goehner (GER) – 2007 winner, Massimo Cigana (ITA) – 2008 winner, Marino Vanhoenacker (BEL), Andreas Raelert (GER), Dirk Bockel (LUX), Erika Csomor (HUN) – 2007 winner, and the always dangerous Yvonne van Vlerken (NED).