Home > Gear

Brownlees sign with BMC

Olympic medalists sign three-year deal, Jonny Brownlee looks to Paris

Alistair and Jonathan Brownlee have signed with BMC for the next three years. Both Brownlee brothers have enjoyed unmatched Olympic success – Alistair is a two-time gold medalist (he was in the lead at the 2008 Games in Beijing with 3 km to go before fading to 12th), while Jonathan took bronze in 2012, silver in 2016 and won gold in the mixed relay in Tokyo last year.

Alistair made a move to long-distance racing after his second gold medal in Rio in 2016, will continue his long-distance career this year, looking to improve on his two silver-medal performances at the Ironman 70.3 World Championship, while also looking to improve his Ironman race resume. Brownlee won his first full-distance race in Ireland, then struggled through the run at the Ironman World Championship in 2019 (finishing 21st), then blasted to a course-record performance at Ironman Western Australia later that year. He’ll be considered amongst the favourites at this year’s first Ironman World Championship in St. George, where he won the Ironman 70.3 North American Championship in 2017. He’s also part of the Sub7/ Sub8 project, and will join Kristian Blummenfelt in the quest for a sub-seven hour full-distance performance this summer.

Brownlee, Charles-Barclay, Blummenfelt and Spirig to chase sub-7 and sub-8 in 2022

Jonathan has also dabbled with some long-distance racing, finishing sixth at Ironman 70.3 Portugal last year, but will be focussed on the Commonwealth Games this year, along with the Super League series. He’s also looking to win another Olympic medal in Paris in 2024.

Alistair will be racing on the BMC Time Machine 01 Disc this year, while Jonathan will use that bike for his long-distance races and the Time Machine Road 01 for his short course events.

Extended partnership with BMC Pro Triathlon Team

BMC will also extend is partnership with the BMC Pro Triathlon Team powered by 2XU for the next three years. Confirmed athletes for this year’s team are: Pablo Dapena Gonzalez (ESP), Kristian Høgenhaug (DEN), Chris Leiferman (USA), Katrina Matthews (GBR), Max Neumann (AUS), Patrik Nilsson (SWE), and Chelsea Reilly Sodaro (USA).