Home > Feature

Nice Preview: Paula Findlay gears up for the Ironman 70.3 World Championship

It’s been quite a journey for Edmonton’s Paula Findlay since her Olympic appearance in 2012 in London – years of dealing with a variety of injuries hampered her ability to come back to the highest levels of WTS racing (she remains the most decorated WTS athlete in Canadian history with five WTS titles between 2010 and 2011) and she’s since turned her sights on the half-distance, with some impressive results including a win at the Ironman 70.3 North American Pro Championship in St. George, Utah last year.

Triathlon Magazine Canada caught up with Findlay a couple of days before the 70.3 World Championship in Nice. She’ll be one of 63 pro women lining up for tomorrow’s race and the only Canadian. On Sunday Guelph, Ont.’s Jackson Laundry will be the only Canadian in the men’s elite field.

The women’s race goes on Saturday, with the men competing on Sunday. Leading the women’s field is four-time Ironman 70.3 world champion Daniela Ryf. She’ll face some stiff competiti0n, though, including last year’s runner-up at both the 70.3 worlds in South Africa and the Ironman World Championship, Lucy Charles-Barclay, and the last woman not-named Daniela Ryf to win this title, 2016 world champ Holly Lawrence.

The men’s race promises to be very fast and very competitive, with Spain’s 10-time world champion Javier Gomez looking for a third 70.3 world title. He’ll have his work cut out for him, though, thanks to the competitive field that includes: England’s two-time Olympic gold medalist Alistair Brownlee, Norway’s Kristian Blummenfelt, who is fresh off a big win at last weekend’s Grand Final in Lausanne, two-time Kona champ Patrick Lange, two-time 70.3 world champ and 2014 Kona champ Sebastian Kienle to name just a few.

Women’s start list:

Name Race # Country
Daniela Ryf 1 SUI
Lucy Charles-Barclay 2 GBR
Anne Haug 3 GER
Holly Lawrence 4 GBR
Pâmella Oliveira 5 BRA
Radka Kahlefeldt 6 CZE
Imogen Simmonds 7 SUI
Ellie Salthouse 8 AUS
Emma Pallant 9 GBR
Laura Philipp 10 GER
Lauren Goss 12 USA
Haley Chura 14 USA
India Lee 16 GBR
Sarah Crowley 17 AUS
Danielle Dingman 18 USA
Manon Genet 19 FRA
Jackie Hering 20 USA
Fanella Langridge 21 GBR
Carrie Lester 22 AUS
Lisa Norden 23 SWE
Barbara Riveros 24 CHI
Frankie Sanjana 25 GBR
Chelsea Sodaro 26 USA
Sara Svensk 27 SWE
Annah Watkinson 28 RSA
Pamela-Ann Bachelder St-Pierre 29 CAN
Lauren Barnett 30 USA
Maria Eugenia Barrera Anduaga 31 MEX
Gisele Bertucci 33 BRA
Jeanne Collonge 34 FRA
Judith Corachan 35 ESP
Luiza Cravo 36 BRA
Laura Dennis 37 AUS
Nina Derron 38 SUI
Dimity-Lee Duke 39 AUS
Amber Ferreira 41 USA
Paula Findlay 42 CAN
Alexandra Ganzon 43 PHI
Ewa Komander 44 POL
Leonie Konczalla 45 GER
Kinsey Laine 46 USA
Xenia Luxem 47 BEL
Rachel Olson 48 USA
Palacio Balena 49 ARG
Romina Pesch 50 USA
Anne Reischmann 52 GER
Katrina Rye 53 GBR
Kaisa Sali 54 FIN
Mariella Sawyer 55 RSA
Jenny Schulz 56 GER
Felicity Sheedy-Ryan 57 AUS
Bianca Steurer 58 AUT
Grace Thek 59 AUS
Alexandra Tondeur 60 BEL
Amelia Watkinson 61 NZL
Kyra Wiens 63 USA

Men’s Start List:

Name Race # Country
Javier Gomez 1 ESP
Alistair Brownlee 2 GBR
Sebastian Kienle 3 GER
Patrick Lange 4 GER
Ben Kanute 5 USA
Pieter Heemeryck 6 BEL
Sam Appleton 7 AUS
Adam Bowden 8 GBR
Rodolophe Von Berg 9 USA
Kristian Blummenfelt 11 NOR
Frederik Van Lierde 12 BEL
Tim Don 14 GBR
Ruedi Wild 15 SUI
Andrew Starykowicz 16 USA
Igor Amorelli 17 BRA
Florian Angert 18 GER
Santiago Ascenco 19 BRA
Andi Boecherer 20 GER
Kevin Collington 21 USA
Eric Lagerstrom 22 USA
Sam Long 23 USA
Elliot Smales 24 GBR
Bart Aernouts 25 BEL
Daniel Bækkegård 26 DEN
Maurice Clavel 27 GER
Andreas Dreitz 28 GER
George Goodwin 30 GBR
Jackson Laundry 32 CAN
Paulo Roberto Maciel Da Silva 34 BRA
Mike Phillips 36 NZL
Bradley Weiss 37 RSA
Josh Amberger 38 AUS
Filipe Azevedo 39 POR
Mark Bowstead 40 NZL
Matt Burton 41 AUS
Alan Carillo Avila 42 MEX
Pablo Dapena Gonzalez 43 ESP
Thomas Davis 44 GBR
Robbie Deckard 45 USA
Romain Guillaume 46 FRA
Gustav Iden 47 NOR
Yvan Jarrige 48 FRA
Ivan Kalashnikov 49 RUS
Mitchell Kibby 50 AUS
Andre Lopes 51 BRA
David Mainwaring 52 AUS
Jack Moody 53 NZL
Banjo Norte 54 PHI
Joaquin Pereda 55 MEX
Sam Pictor 56 GBR
Jason Pohl 57 CAN
Alexander Polizzi 58 AUS
Tim Rea 59 AUS
Horst Reichel 60 GER
Markus Rolli 62 GER
Francisco Serrano 63 MEX
Dominik Sowieja 64 GER
Milosz Sowinski 65 POL
Cyril Viennot 66 FRA
Iuri Vinuto Josino 67 BRA