Home > Feature

Kingston to Elk Lake triathlon results

Race recaps from the August long weekend

Over the civic long weekend, hundreds of triathletes took to their local races competing in distances from sprints to the long course distance. In Ontario, it was the Multisport Canada K-Town race in Kingston. Out west it was the Elk Lake Triathlon weekend on Vancouver Island.

Multisport Canada K-Town

Photo Credit: zoomphoto.ca

On August 5th, multisport athletes convened in Kingston to compete in the duathlon, triathlon or the long course triathlon. The duathlon began with a 4K run, followed by a 30K bike and a 7.2K run. Billy Bostad and Karen Busse took the overall win in the men’s and women’s division.

The triathlon featured the same course, but instead of the 4K run, there was a 750m swim. Jesse the Elf and Kaitlyn L’Abbe won the overall men’s and women’s race. The triathlon distance also featured a swim/bike division which was won by Rachel Blair and Sally Christmas. The team relay category was won by Team Tachycardia.

The long course triathlon featured a 2K swim, a 56K bike and a 15K run. Daniel Clarke and Tamara Jewett would be victorious on the day in their respective divisions. The top finishers in the swim/bike race were Jonathon Brault and Heather Erven. While top bike/run finishers were Alexander Lingley and Rita Jackson. In the relay, Queen’s Varsity ft. Western would take the win posting a 2:50:16.

Elk Lake Triathlon

Over the BC long weekend, Elk Lake on Vancouver Island hosted the 2nd Annual Triathlon weekend (39th in history at Elk Lake). The weekend included a sprint and Olympic distance triathlon, as well as a duathlon and aquabike.

The sprint was won by Carsten Lapointe and Teagan Shapansky, while the Olympic was won by Stephen Kilshaw and Sonja Futehally. The win for Kilshaw was a welcoming result following a mechanical at IRONMAN Canada last weekend. The Olympic relay triathlon was won by Young & Pro and Old & Slow.

The duathlon was won by Nelson Roche and Katie Fitzmaurice, while the aquabike was won by Tom Gossland and Tania Johnson.